1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Advanced Tribes

Discussion in 'Civ2 - General Discussions' started by vladmir_illych_lenin, Mar 10, 2001.

  1. vladmir_illych_lenin

    vladmir_illych_lenin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2000
    Messages:
    884
    Location:
    Civ Fanatics
    What's the largest and most advanced tribe you've ever discovered?

    Most of mine were size 1 cities with nothing, but there were the rare size 2 cities with a temple and a marketplace.

    The largest I discovered was a huge size 4 city with temple, marketplace, barracks, granary, and a courthouse.

    Unfortunately, I had to disband the city because it was in the middle of the desert with minus 3 food.

    Has any of my fellow CivFanatics discovered larger tribes?
     
  2. Thunderfall

    Thunderfall Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    12,128
    Gender:
    Male
    The largest advanced tribe I discovered is size 3, I think.
     
  3. HIEROPHANT

    HIEROPHANT Videogame God

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2001
    Messages:
    426
    Location:
    On plant Earth from the Great Beyond somewhere in
    i think it depends on what year you are in the game on how big the advanced tribe is.
     
  4. Frederick the Great

    Frederick the Great Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Prussia
    I once got a size 4 city with a granary, temple, and marketplace, and this wasn't out in the desert or anything. It was a really good find.

    ------------------
    Frederick II, The Great, King of Prussia
    First Servant of the State<IMG SRC="http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/king.gif" border=0>
     
  5. damunzy

    damunzy recovering former mod Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    Messages:
    4,978
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    Size 3, nothing special that I can remember.

    ------------------
    <FONT face="tahoma">
    All rights reserved, all wrongs avenged. </FONT f>
     
  6. Flatlander Fox

    Flatlander Fox Armed Cultural Consultant

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Messages:
    1,874
    Location:
    Unemployment Line
    The biggest I ever found was a size 4 with a granary, temple, and courthouse. I then promptly lost it to a lousy barb uprising a few turns later.

    ------------------
    It takes a big man to cry, but it takes a bigger man to laugh at THAT man.
     
  7. Lefty Scaevola

    Lefty Scaevola Moderatus Illuminatus Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2000
    Messages:
    9,787
    Location:
    San Antonio TX USA
    size 4 with 3 imrovements
     
  8. kittenOFchaos

    kittenOFchaos Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    6,813
    Location:
    Brighouse, England
    Same
    size 4
    temple, granary, marketplace
     
  9. SunTzu

    SunTzu Hooah Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2000
    Messages:
    4,521
    Location:
    Moving throughout the world
    i remember one time in a game, for somereason i left this one hut alone and finally decided to see what it has around 1800AD i gave me a size 8city!

    ------------------
    <FONT COLOR="blue"><FONT face="copperplate gothic light">Civilization God of War & Economic Prosperity
    http://www.civfanatics.com Staff and forum moderator

    <IMG SRC="http://www.homestead.com/house_of_lux/files/suntzu1.gif" border=0>

    Well, it must be close to the Armageddon. Lord, you know that I won’t fly by that lesson you taught me, to pull out my Wesson you brought me, and i’m not stressin’ it softly. Get ‘em up off me, ‘cause all we wanted harmony, been bombin’ ‘em. Yell up outta my ghetto, “I won’t settle,” get on my level.</FONT c>
    </FONT f>
     
  10. Andrew Livings

    Andrew Livings Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2001
    Messages:
    138
    Location:
    Europe
    I'm surprised that you'd get an advanced tribe in the middle of the desert. The computer will only build citieson what it considers 'fertile' terrain: plains and grassland, so I'd've thought that you'd only get advanced tribes on these terrains as well.
     
  11. Cimfindriel

    Cimfindriel Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2001
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    Canada
    Size 4 as well, but I am not sure what came along with it.

    ------------------
    <IMG SRC="http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/ninja1.gif" border=0>"Engarde you silly fool!
    You are no match for my so fine
    rapier!"

    He who sacrifices his conscience to ambition burns a picture to obtain the ashes.
    - Chinese Proverb
     
  12. Leowind

    Leowind Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2000
    Messages:
    1,236
    Location:
    Eugene, OR, USA
    Same story, size 4 with 4 improvements (in GOTM#2, actually )
     
  13. Kev

    Kev Hired Goon

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2001
    Messages:
    1,895
    Location:
    Ringwood, NJ USA
    I've also had a size 4 city given to me with 3-4 improvements. One time it was in a position that was just missing fish and a whale, and it was encroacing on a nearby city as well. That was a tough choice, but I think I ended up keeping it where it was.

    A size 8 City Sun Tzu?!?!?! That kicks!

    ------------------
    Diplomacy - the art of
    saying "Good Doggie"
    until you can find a rock
     
  14. shadowdale

    shadowdale CFC Drunkard

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2001
    Messages:
    1,184
    Location:
    Looking up from the bottom of a bee
    The biggest I have ever gotten from a goody hut was a size 6 city, but I don't remember how many improvements there were!!
    But I have also noticed that you get bigger cities if you wait long enough!!



    ------------------
    Veni Vidi Vici.

    Coolbook:
    Håkan Eriksson, Stormerne, vladmir_illych_lenin, Cunobelin Of Hippo, vanillacube.
     
  15. MrLeN

    MrLeN Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Messages:
    308
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    DOH!

    I never get good stuff like all of the above.

    I only ever get a size one. I vaguely remember getting a few with 'an' improvement inside.

    MrLeN



    [This message has been edited by MrLeN (edited March 13, 2001).]
     
  16. Cunobelin Of Hippo

    Cunobelin Of Hippo Site Pachyderm

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2000
    Messages:
    2,087
    Location:
    The muddy shallows
    Size 5, temple, marketplace. Total fluke, I usually get size 1/2.

    ------------------
    I am so great! Gee, arr, ehh, tee! I am so great! Gee, arr, ehh, tee! I mean, my greatness is so obvious! It's all around us! Everywhere you look you will be stunned by my greatness. I can't believe how great I really am.
     
  17. FearlessLeader2

    FearlessLeader2 Fundamentalist Loon

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2001
    Messages:
    4,271
    Location:
    Standing atop the K-12.
    The biggest city I ever got was size 4. It had a temple, marketplace, granary. As an aside, whoever it was(oh, Lenin) that said they got a courthouse. . . no, I don't think so. You NEVER get a courthouse in any city that you capture or acquire. Even a bribed city loses its courthouse. It's the game's way of saying that different civs have different laws, so the old courthouse is worthless to the new civ. You CAN'T acquire a city with a courthouse. Period. Well, I never have anyway. And we all know that I'm just a god incarnate, so it has to be true. . .
     
  18. sekong

    sekong Net Surfer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2001
    Messages:
    316
    I used to play large map, therefore there always are some un-openned huts in later of games. The later it is, the better/advanced the tribe is. I generally get size 3-4 of city, with something like temple, Marketplace, library, etc. don't remember saw anything higher than 5. Coz I generally don't play till that late.
     
  19. vladmir_illych_lenin

    vladmir_illych_lenin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2000
    Messages:
    884
    Location:
    Civ Fanatics
    Really?
    I dunno. But it had a bunch of "primary" improvements.
     
  20. goodbye_mr_bond

    goodbye_mr_bond Ancient

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    Nowhere, fast
    I've often had size 3 or 4 with a few improvements, but never 5 or more. I usually play large map though so what sekong says applies.

    I've never had a city on a desert though. Or Forest even.
     

Share This Page