Advice Appreciated

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Macintosh' started by PtolemyGoatherd, Nov 14, 2010.

1. PtolemyGoatherd

PtolemyGoatherd Chieftain

I'm a student with a mac, and I've been hoping I could run it on my older macbook.
    Of course their system requirements are way beyond what I can run. Here's what's been posted - I've put what I'm lacking in bold.

http://www.insidemacgames.com/news/story.php?ID=19350
    Expected Minimum Product Spec Requirements:

* Operating System: 10.6.4 (Snow Leopard)
    * CPU Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo (Dual-Core)
    * CPU Speed: 2.4 GHz
    * Memory: 2 GB RAM
    * Hard Disk Space: 8 GB
    * Video Card (ATI): Radeon HD2600
    * Video Card (NVidia): Geforce 8600
    * Video Memory (VRam): 256 MB

I'm running OS X, and it's no problem upgrading to Snow Leopard. But my video card is really lacking (144 MB of VRam - not entirely sure of what my video card actually is), and I only have 1GB of memory, though some room could be made.

My question is, what should I do? Getting a new computer seems ridiculous, but so does all that hardware. Any suggestions?

FYI, I'm not particularly computer savvy.

Thanks!!

2. crag

crag Chieftain

You are going to have serious problems with your video card. I doubt it'll even run. Also 2 GB of RAM is minimum. So having more would probably be best. The RAM is easy, cause I bet your mac can use 3GB probably.

Like I said your video is the weakest link. And since it's a notebook your only options are to hack it (and install a new card - which I'm not sure is even possible) or buy a new one..

3. Xyth

Xyth History Rewritten

From your description it sounds like you have a MacBook with an integrated rather than dedicated graphics card. This can not be upgraded. I'm sorry to say that Civ5 would be an absolutely miserable and unattractive experience, if it even ran at all. Macbooks (including the Air) are just not designed for 3D games, you need a MacBookPro or some variety of desktop.