1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Africa During the Cold War - Testing Thread

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Creation & Customization' started by Virote_Considon, Mar 7, 2010.

  1. Virote_Considon

    Virote_Considon The Great Dictator

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    9,249
    Location:
    Skaville UK Reputation: 1
    Finally had 5 minutes the other day to get the civpedia sorted out to explain things relevantly, and managed to get enough time to compile a credits list, so here it is ready for the first wave of testing!

    ================================
    ___________________________
    The Downloads
    ___________________________

    Download and extract these files in order. Place them in your Conquests\Scenarios or Conquests\Conquests folder.

    1. Africa During the Cold War.zip


    ___________________________
    Patches
    ___________________________

    Extract these patches in order after you've done the downloads. Place them in the same place.

    Currently no patches!

    ================================

    Things to note, known problems and the like:
    • THIS SCENARIO IS UNFINISHED! It only stretches through the 50's, has very few flavoured units, and doesn't yet implement the "choosing sides" features!
    • Infantry compared to mechanized is very unbalanced. This is one of the things I want to test!
    • There are going to be a lot of invisible units on the map. This is something you're going to have to deal with, and it is intended. If this is too hard for most people, then I'll think about pre-placing a "Spy" unit in every nations' capital - although I'm hoping I won't have to do this!
    • There's probably little reason to declare independence at the moment - this will change as I add more eras and flesh things out.

    ================================

    So, start testing away!

    Things I need to know are:
    -How would it be best to alter Mechanized units' stats to be better in comparison to infantry's stats?
    -Does the tech pace feel right?
    -Is it too easy to build up a fortune?
    -Should the numbers of colonial troops be bumped up for the applicable civs? Should I pre-place some mercenaries in certain areas to stir up some instant trouble?

    And anything else you may want to add!

    Enjoy.
     
  2. nick0515

    nick0515 Dad, Librarian, Writer & GNU/Linux User

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,361
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New Zealand
    First post!

    Sounds interesting. We desperately need more Africa mods!

    Will download as soon as I have some spare time to play it.

    Cheers

    Nick
     
  3. General 666

    General 666 Culturebringer

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,284
    Location:
    skull throne
    I`ve downloaded your work and will took a look today.:scan:
    Maybe I report back tomorrow. Stay tuned ...
     
  4. General 666

    General 666 Culturebringer

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,284
    Location:
    skull throne
    I`m sure it`s not what you originally asked for ,but I hope it`s from any help.:)

    A) Sounds in wrong format :
    Syntax= foldername - filename (reason)

    American Anti-tank - AmericanAntiTankFortify.wav (44100kHz)
    AssaultInfantry - Commandogun.wav (8bit ;Stereo)
    Iranian Infantry - AttackB.wav (8bit ;Stereo)
    Iranian Infantry - Commandogun.wav (8bit ;Stereo)
    Katyusha - KatyushaAttackA.wav (11025kHz ;8bit)

    B) the attack sound for the Mortar last for 6.5 secs. Much too long ,dude !

    C) exept for "Dome-splash.pcx" all wonder pics seems to miss a correct Civ compatible palette. Ever seen`em ingame ?

    D) You have no alpha version of the resources.pcx included. Most people will say they look better with one.

    All this response is pretty technical instead of the answer to this thread.:rolleyes:
     
  5. Virote_Considon

    Virote_Considon The Great Dictator

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    9,249
    Location:
    Skaville UK Reputation: 1
    Thanks General 666

    Currently, graphics and sounds are of second-rate importance, as I want gameplay to be sorted before I get around to tampering with them too much :)
     
  6. Russian Soviet

    Russian Soviet Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Where I lay my head is home.
    Some of the things I've seen playing as NATO (Yeah. I'm one of those people.)

    - The Airfield located in Egypt is useless as it disappears right away. The Aircraft already their are fine, but you can't base any more there.

    - Some of the production pictures for units are different then the actually appear. Take NATO Infantry for example.

    - You had a good idea for the country specific resources. (Such as Turkey in Turkey. And Israel in Israel) But if NATO can link their cities. (All they need in this case is Aleppo) They can build those units outside of that nation. You probably can't fix this. And it might have been intended. But it's worth a shot. ;)

    - You spelled "Escort" Wrong. Unless, I think if your British, it has a "u". But I can live with this. I'm specifically referring to the Destroyer "Escourt"
     
  7. Arexander

    Arexander The obvious lurker

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    819
    Location:
    Finland
    This can be arranged by checking the flag on "Must be inside city radius" or something that way. This way only the cities near the resource can produce the units.
     
  8. Supa

    Supa Out of Cheese Error

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    3,663
    Location:
    Belgium
  9. Virote_Considon

    Virote_Considon The Great Dictator

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    9,249
    Location:
    Skaville UK Reputation: 1
    I'm not sure what to do about this one :blush:

    Yeah, the units32 file is a mess at the moment, and needs to be sorted out...

    Maybe I could put an unroadable mountain range around Turkey? But then that would limit Turkey to amphibious operations :hmm:

    Yeah, I'm British, so the spelling stays ;)
     
  10. Arexander

    Arexander The obvious lurker

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    819
    Location:
    Finland
    I can't even check from the editor if my points is right or wrong. I need to trust that you're right. :cringe:
     
  11. Dumanios

    Dumanios MLG

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,868
    I apologize for bumping the thread, but could somebody send me an alternate DL link for the mod? I tried the divshare link in the OP, but the link doesn't work on my end (it always times out).
     
  12. Virote_Considon

    Virote_Considon The Great Dictator

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    9,249
    Location:
    Skaville UK Reputation: 1
    I've not got a working version atm, sorry.
     

Share This Page