1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

After years of playing, what new things have you found in Civ 4?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by ZeekLTK, Sep 19, 2013.

  1. ThorHammerz

    ThorHammerz zzz

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    836
    Just found out (or at least, confirmed) today that foreign cities can only trade with 1 of your own cities :(........ well, that's another "to-do" on the modding goals :D
     
  2. civfanchambers

    civfanchambers Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    456
    Location:
    Houston Texas
    Good question. Then to a carrier? Anyone have an answer?
     
  3. s.bernbaum

    s.bernbaum Mostly lurking

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,780
    Location:
    The wilds of Montana
    If you don't already have the national wonder, it survives in the captured city and you can no longer build it somewhere else. If you have already built a national wonder elsewhere, it disappears from the captured city. In short: "Only one to a customer!" ;)
     
  4. CaterpillarKing

    CaterpillarKing Conqueror of Cacoons

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6,312
    Location:
    On a leaf
    I just found out that if you trade away all your resources, you lose the resource. I have been playing for many years and I have no idea how I did not know that :lol: I never tried it :p
     
  5. Deckhand

    Deckhand Procrastination at its finest GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,504
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    California
    No, they disappear (if they are culture buildings).
    Say you capture the Great Library, there won't be a library in the city when you take it. I just tested this case and confirmed.
     
  6. whitelaughter

    whitelaughter Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Cool, thanks for that.

    [nods] which means that if you trade away uranium to AIs that can't use it, you can build privateers, then cancel a trade and upgrade them to destroyers - getting a free sentry promotion for them.
     
  7. CaterpillarKing

    CaterpillarKing Conqueror of Cacoons

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6,312
    Location:
    On a leaf
    Very tricky :lol: Little things that are just so funny :p
     
  8. ThorHammerz

    ThorHammerz zzz

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    836
    As long as Mansa Musa is not in the game at (or near) that tech region..... :lol:
     
  9. civfanchambers

    civfanchambers Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    456
    Location:
    Houston Texas
    Learned today that during a Golden Age Nationhood allows you to draft 4 units per turn instead of the normal 3. Truly happy I discovered that!
     
  10. Ghpstage

    Ghpstage Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,944
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    Thats a great discovery if true.
    Are you sure you weren't playing a large map? :mischief:
     
  11. civfanchambers

    civfanchambers Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    456
    Location:
    Houston Texas
    As a matter of fact I am playing a large map. Didn't think it changed things. I checked golden age info under game concepts in the civilopedea, and it Cleary states 3 draft. Nothing about changes due to map size or even golden ages. I'll be back home shortly, I'll boot up the comp and check what happens out of GA with nationhood.
     
  12. civfanchambers

    civfanchambers Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    456
    Location:
    Houston Texas
    Well damn. Rechecked my game. Large map and yes out of GA I do have 4 draft with nationhood. I double checked the civilopedia and it states 3 draft. Never seen any documentation that draft count changes with map size. So I guess I still have learned something today. Map size apparently effects the draft. Does this mean huge maps give 5 draft, or tiny maps give 1 draft? I usually play standard maps, and have become accustomed to 3 draft.
     
  13. Sun Tzu Wu

    Sun Tzu Wu Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    7,920
    Try a duel map. You you will find that only one unit per turn can be drafted.

    I believe that the number of units that can be drafted are based on map size as follows:

    Large, Huge: 4
    Standard: 3
    Tiny, Small: 2
    Duel: 1

    I'm not sure about Tiny, Small and Huge. Could be off by one.

    孫子武
     
  14. s.bernbaum

    s.bernbaum Mostly lurking

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,780
    Location:
    The wilds of Montana
    Civilopedia info is targeted at normal game speed and map size. For most things it does not matter but for anything requiring numbers (how many temples for a cathedral, how many turns for legendary city, how many drafts per turn, etc) it does not give the correct amount for anything larger or slower than normal.
     
  15. Sun Tzu Wu

    Sun Tzu Wu Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    7,920
    Tip: Mass drafting in a golden age on larger maps can be a good plan when one doesn't normally use the nationhood civic. Just start a GA, adopt nationhood, draft the limit each turn of the GA and at the end of last turn of the GA, switch back to the preferred labor civic (bureaucracy/free speech). Just prepare for the massive drafting unhappiness. It is best done with beelined rifling and riflemen.

    孫子武
     
  16. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    Just found out (30 seconds ago)

    Try hold control and use mousewheel when you've selected your SoD.
     
  17. traius

    traius His own worst enemy

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    938
    Huge is 5.
     
  18. pandamancer

    pandamancer Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    335
    I just realized that

    Gunpowder Units cannot be promoted with Shock. Does that mean Praets can still be useful vs early Renaissance AI without mounted units? Also, will this change your view on Janissaries?

    Archery and Melee Units cannot be promoted with Pinch. This means bad news when defending against a more advanced AI while you are stuck with medieval units.

    Of course, Mounted Units does not have Cover promotion. Allowing it will otherwise be OP
     
  19. AdamCrock

    AdamCrock Polish Pudding

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    5,477
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Edgar Allan Poe-Landia
    what happens ? Sorry I have my mobo broken - that's why am such a cynic ;) Serioulsy - what doest it do ?
     
  20. FlyingSwan

    FlyingSwan King

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    620
    It cycles through your units,this is weird because I only found this out yesterday myself.I also found out that national wonders can be destroyed by nukes when I lost my national epic yesterday in the "is this winnable" game on Strategy and tips atm.
     

Share This Page