1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Age of Further Discovery v0.04 Alpha Test - Bugs Report Thread

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Age of Discovery II' started by Aymerick, Aug 8, 2010.

  1. Aymerick

    Aymerick Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Ville de Québec
    Hey, I'm uploading a new standalone test version.

    I'm starting a new thread for you guys to post bug report. Please turn on the autosave to every turn and post save games when reporting bugs...

    Be aware that I've removed many features from the last version for testing purposes (I actually started from scratch), but I will put them back in when we have a bug free version.

    Do not complain about features that have been temporarily removed, Please focus on finding bugs and/or game balance issues!!!

    Post any features request to the main thread here

    Here's a change log summary :

    Installation
    This is a standalone version, simply extract the zip to your "\Program Files\2K Games\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization IV Colonization\Mods" folder.
    Installation problems will not be supported for this version!
    Download link : http://www.filefront.com/17183567/AgeOfFurtherDiscovery_v0.04.zip


    Known issues :
    Code:
    Minor :
    - GameText descriptions (Tar Distiller Building)
    - Pink Whaling Mission Icon 
    
    Major :
    - Guns requiered for buildings
    Aymerick
     
  2. CHERUSCAN

    CHERUSCAN Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Fort Ligonier, Pennsylvania
    Link takes you to File Front but download does not work
     
  3. Pseudosc

    Pseudosc Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    download worked for me fine.

    1st thing I have come across is that the description of the tar distillers house says rum distiller and that it produces 3 rum.
     
  4. Aymerick

    Aymerick Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Ville de Québec
    Humm... You should see the Tar Icon there, I do anyway...
    Could you take a screenshot?

    Thanks,

    Aymerick
     
  5. CHERUSCAN

    CHERUSCAN Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Fort Ligonier, Pennsylvania
    Saved link to desk top and then it open fine.

    I am downloading now and will begin testing


    Later: Found a minor bug after capturing an enemy colony and trying to build a Town Hall, I got a message that said I did not have enough "guns" to build
     
  6. CHERUSCAN

    CHERUSCAN Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Fort Ligonier, Pennsylvania
    The Tar Distiller text in the Civilopedia has the reference to Rum
     
  7. CHERUSCAN

    CHERUSCAN Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Fort Ligonier, Pennsylvania
    (I know this is for bug reporting but needed to express testing results)

    Abandon Colony works fine.Also got a Free Colonist goodie. No FOY yet. (Fountain of Youth) Seemed like Natives are more aggressive.Had one Capture an unescorted treasure wagon which makes abandon colony useful for scout.

    Lots of new ship types to experimenrt with.
    Have not found any tar or whale yets.

    I also really like the new European Dock and the magnificient background. Bravo. So much better to look at.

    Ships do not automatic return to colony and you are unable to select a colony to send to from Europe screen..only East/West.

    Also that crazy rock music is gone.........gone for good I hope.

    Will try to get a Custom house up and running soon.

    There are no other new civ's beyond vanilla (except for Portugal). But that was stated up front and helps with testing bugs etc.
     
  8. CHERUSCAN

    CHERUSCAN Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Fort Ligonier, Pennsylvania
    Possible Bug:

    It appears that the Tar Distillery does not require any map resourse (Tar Pit) to generate barrells of oil. You just place a worker at the building and generate barrells. One would think that a Tar Pit resource would be loacted in the swamp or marsh area and have to be extracted by a worker like the sugar cane resource.

    Possible Bug:
    While testing on the Northwest Passage (Mod version) scenario, on the easiest level, attempted to purchase additional Caravels, but they would not leave port.


    Possible Bug:

    Crash to desk top while playing North West Passage Scenario (Regular). PLaying on easiest level and was moving a colonist away from native village instead of into village and all of a sudden CTD. I will try playing on a New World Map and see if it happens again and try to determine what is happening.

    possible bug: The native AI attacks and captures treasure wagons even on easiest level.
    Almost forces you to use the abandon colony method to get gold back to Europe. However, the scout tends to find the treasure or natives give gold far away from nearest port or when you have to build a new colony to allow for treasure wagon, natives demand gold for land. If you build a new colony, you risk war unless you buy land.
     
  9. Pseudosc

    Pseudosc Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Screenshot attached (I hope - first time I've tried this)
     
  10. Pseudosc

    Pseudosc Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    The action icon for deep sea fishing for both whaling boat and fishing boat is a pink square.
     
  11. Aymerick

    Aymerick Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Ville de Québec
    Tar (or Pine Tar) is made from and consumes Lumber... Look on Wiki to learn how they did that in Colonial America...

    I haven't tested scenarios! Let's just say for now that they're unsupported and I look into that later...

    Native Raiding Parties are not contingent on difficulty level (I'd need to look into that)...
    Your strategy might not be the best for dealing with this... One would be to escort your treasure back to a safe place. Natives will only raid a treasure unit if it's unprotected, simply put a scout on the same plot and they won't risk attacking...

    Thanks for your help and keep up debugging!

    Aymerick

    p.s. I've added a "Known Issues" list to the first post...
     
  12. CHERUSCAN

    CHERUSCAN Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Fort Ligonier, Pennsylvania
    OK

    I thought there was a connection between marsh and tar like sugar.
    I should have known.... that makes sense ........"Pine Tar" comes from trees.
     
  13. CHERUSCAN

    CHERUSCAN Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Fort Ligonier, Pennsylvania
    I put 2-4 scouts in play as quickly as possible to locate Europeans but more especially to locate gold, silver and other resources. Instead of escorting treasure back to a distant port, it makes excellent "gifts" to the natives.
     
  14. Aymerick

    Aymerick Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Ville de Québec
    This is a major bug in this version! Do you have a savegame before it happened? If not, try to reproduce it, I need one to understand what the problem is...

    Thanks,

    Aymerick
     
  15. millansoft

    millansoft Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    130
    Nice version Aymerick! If you need some help to save time just ask, like updating the colonizopedia or whatever and I will try :)
     
  16. CHERUSCAN

    CHERUSCAN Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Fort Ligonier, Pennsylvania
    I was playing on the North West Passage Scenario when the message came on about not enough "guns" I was trying to build a Town Hall.

    This happened to me before in the AOD Mod and instead of tools, it asked for guns.

    I am going to play test on a map other than scenario and see if it happens again.
     
  17. CHERUSCAN

    CHERUSCAN Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Fort Ligonier, Pennsylvania
    Another good testing session. No CTD. The promotion system worked. Had a free colonist Dragoon become a Professional (Vetern) Soldier after winning a battle.
     
  18. CHERUSCAN

    CHERUSCAN Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Fort Ligonier, Pennsylvania
    Question:

    Is the promotion of a Free Colonist Dragoon to a Veteran Professional Dragoon (change from Green to Blue Uniform) suppose to always happen after winning a battle or are there oither requiremenrts. While playing the Dutch, and attacking the English, the first unit promoted and changed. the next two did not. All three were free colonists. If the soldier is a specialist of some kind it does not happen. Have not tried to see if a criminal soldier gets promoted to a indentured soldier etc......yet
     
  19. Aymerick

    Aymerick Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Ville de Québec
    Unit level upgrade is separate from traditional promotions...

    You have a random chance of ugrading after surviving a battle. Right now, you have 9 chance in 10 to upgrade but I'm thinking about setting up a global define so that people can tweak it as they want...

    Aymerick
     
  20. CHERUSCAN

    CHERUSCAN Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Fort Ligonier, Pennsylvania
    Just loaded the saved game and started playing again this morning. The Dragoons upgraded after second battle like they should . Have not tried getting a indentured servant or criminal soldier promoted yet.
     

Share This Page