1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

AI Air Force v1.1

Changes to Air Units to help the AI use them

  1. BomberEscort

    BomberEscort Don't be alarmed; this is a kindness Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,106
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kansas City
    BomberEscort submitted a new resource:

    AI Air Force - Changes to Air Units to help the AI use them

    Read more about this resource...

    Air01.JPG
    Air03.JPG
    Air04.JPG
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2016
  2. sp00n

    sp00n Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    Code:
    [3663453.349] [Gameplay] ERROR: Database::XMLSerializer (AI_Air_Force_XML.xml): <Update> element requires a child <Set> element.
    [3663453.350] [Gameplay]: In XMLSerializer while updating table AllowedMoves from file AI_Air_Force_XML.xml.
    The <Where> tags aren't closed in the XML file's <AllowedMoves> section, causing this error.
     
  3. BomberEscort

    BomberEscort Don't be alarmed; this is a kindness Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,106
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kansas City
  4. DemonMaster

    DemonMaster A.K.A. Fenhorn

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,646
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    This surely will make the AI build air units, they still don't use them, except for interceptions which is a passive action.
    Edit: I actually saw my first AI vs. AI air combat today. So they do use the air, even though it is rare.
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2017
  5. DemonMaster

    DemonMaster A.K.A. Fenhorn

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,646
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    This is a modified version of this mod. This removes all the stats changes but keeps the rest (you can build planes without Aerodrome, AI use planes more often).

    edit: I should say that I am no modder or programmer. I just simply removed the line with changed stats because I only want the AI (incl. CS) to build planes AND use them.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 22, 2018
    [to_xp]Gekko likes this.
  6. DrJambo

    DrJambo Crash-test dummy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,027
    Location:
    Athens of the North (Edinburgh)
    So what’s the trigger to make the AI actually build them - the reduced cost? I’ve tried no aerodrome mods but this didn’t make any difference.
     
  7. DemonMaster

    DemonMaster A.K.A. Fenhorn

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,646
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    I didn't make the code and I don't know what the code means, but there is a line in the sql file. That line is the difference between this mod and the "no aerodrome mod". So all planes cost the same, have the same resource requirement and stacking limit (i per city).

    In my (limited) tests (using autoplay in advanced start). CSs build planes fast (they don't have much else to do). Civs will eventually build them and Civs will also eventually build aerodromes (and air strips). I have seen the AI use planes quite a lot actually during these tests.

    I removed the stats changes from the original mod simply because I don't agree with them. I also removed the "I like planes" lines for the various civs because not all the civs are coded (the original mod is old) and I don't know how to add the code for the new civs. This last part would have been great of course.

    As I said, I am no modder. But I would like to add to this mod that the AI build anti-air a little bit more (or at all). But I don't know how to do that.
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2018

Share This Page