1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

AI forward settling a lot

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by Synth, Oct 26, 2016.

  1. Synth

    Synth Comrade

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    135
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Brazil
    Is anyone else getting a feeling that the AI is forward settling just for the sake of it? In the game I'm playing right now, Victoria decided to found her three cities beside mine, even ignoring a natural wonder that was close to her.
    I have no problem with the AI forward settling to take my resources (I mean, I will take those cities, I'm just saying it makes sense to me), but ignoring better terrain just to piss me off? That's just asking to be wiped out completely.
     
  2. Truronian

    Truronian Quite unfamiliar Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    9,869
    Location:
    Near Cornwall
    It's what I do, so I don't really have a problem if the AI is doing it as well.
     
    lamaros, Cymsdale and dturtle1 like this.
  3. Plus Ultra

    Plus Ultra Conquistador

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    702
    Location:
    Spain
    I've seen the AI do some crazy stuff for strategic resources, they sure love those horses/iron/coal.
     
  4. Mustakrakish

    Mustakrakish In 'Node' We Trust

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,520
    Location:
    Grainvillage, Finland
    Yes, they're MAD sometimes. I got Kongo dude to my north placing a city at the very western point of my civ between my 2 cities with space just enough to fit the damn city and there was nothing there, not a single resource, a couple of plains and desert (well 1 fish). The only thing there was the road between my cities. I got so pissed at that I reloaded and bought the tile. I even saw his settler circumventing my empire and thought "I wonder where he's going..." I didn't even amuse myself with the thought that YES, he indeed goes for that pathetic space in there. I just thought he's got to be wondering aimlessly or something.

    Anyway after reloading and buying the tile, a few turns later he does the same trick, only this time between my city (one of those previous) and Brazil's, again just enough space to fit it, even so that his city center actually touched my border :rolleyes: And again nothing there to justify this madness (again... fish). Then he had the audacity to appear to me next turn and complain about MY TROOPS on HIS BORDERS! :mad:

    All that... all that while he has half the continent empty to the north of him...
     
    CoconutTank and fatgordy like this.
  5. Aldor

    Aldor King

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    685
    Location:
    Germany
    On the positive side...your land must really be nice that they come from so far :)
     
    Deds likes this.
  6. roscoepfox

    roscoepfox Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    Does the AI "see" resources that aren't evident yet? I know in Civ 3 they could. That may be one reason.

    But yeah its annoying when the AI decides to settle smack dab in your territory. Cleopatra came from a different land mass with an unescorted settler the very second I had cleared a barb camp in a spot I wanted. I was so ticked off I declared war and captured it.
     
  7. bbbt

    bbbt Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2,250
    Victoria makes sense because her whole agenda is settle other continents.

    In general, I think the "place your city here"calculation is a little wonky (and is probably exactly what the AI uses). In my latest game, for my third settler, it's suggested best-city location was far away from my capital right next to the Aztec capital. Not near the natural wonder next to me. So it's probably doing the same for the AI.
     
  8. Synth

    Synth Comrade

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    135
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Brazil
    We weren't in different continents, I checked it. It might be that other thing, thoug.
     
  9. Lord Khorak

    Lord Khorak Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    It's one of the things that's killing this game for me.

    Once again, as per usual, they give absolutely no way to 'teach' the AI any cause-and-effect, so they will obnoxiously and aggressively dump cities directly on your border no matter how far away from their own lands, then consider YOU insane when you get angry, declare war, and burn the whole lot to the ****ing ground.

    Can you issue a proclamation of 'settle within two tiles of my borders and I will have a casus belli to burn your city to the ground'? Nope, of course not. Instead, you can tell people not to settle near you.....AFTER they settle near you. And it lasts like 30 turns even on Marathon, and then you have to wait for a now smugly self-satisfied promise keeper to do it AGAIN before you can tell them NOT to do it.

    ...and then I'm a warmonger for burning their cities to the ground. Everyone else declares war. I burn down all THEIR cities they dumped directly on my face. Then I get fed up, realise I'm winning fairly effortlessly because I know how to use ranged units properly, and destroy all opposing enemy civilisations so they can't continue this broken-record cycle of being calculatedly passive-aggressive, and then acting like I'm Satan because I denounce and declare war on them.

    This happens in every single game, no matter how I want to play the game. The AI is so literally mindlessly aggressive in its choices that I end up forced to obliterate my entire starting continent. Every. Single. Game.
     
  10. Staal

    Staal Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    A tad over reaction I think. They do forward settle but 50/50 it is a decent spot anyway that you would've taken. "Killing the game" is blowing it way out of proportion. Keep some perspective please.
     
  11. Zantetsuken

    Zantetsuken Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
    I don't mind it mostly, sometimes they do place odd cities, India placed one right adjacent to my borders one time, except everything out that way was desert, and he didn't have petra or access to fresh water, or even any strategic resources, it was strange

    I was playing Gorgo and it annoyed me so I just went and wiped him for culture
     
  12. x2Madda

    x2Madda Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Messages:
    346
    Since civ2 the AI can see the land resources without the required tech but yes they still can in civ6. In the long term its for the best since the AI was notorius for settling in terrible locations for no good reason which as far as i can tell, they don't seem to in civ6.
     
  13. Staal

    Staal Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    I do agree they can perhaps put in a rule that you cannot settle adjacent to another cultures border regardless of proximity to another city.
     
  14. beorn

    beorn Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    Location:
    Albion, NY
    Actually, I think that Khorak's reaction is pretty much what the designers are going for. Not the "killing the game for me" but the rage leading to wiping out the rest of the continent.

    I'm thinking the idea is to get emotional engagement in the game. Civ V, a lot of the time, I was yawning by mid-game. I was ahead and had no real feelings about my neighbors. In VI, I'm still ahead, but I am furious at my neighbors, yet hemmed in by various realities (warmongering penalties, limits to diplomacy, needing to stay focused on my main goals, etc.) Ahead, sure, but definitely not yawning.
     
    Staal likes this.
  15. Staal

    Staal Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Haha fair point!
     
  16. van der Knivet

    van der Knivet Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Brazil
    Interesting... in my first game it was exactly the opposite. They almost didn't settled at all. It was already 1900 ad and most of the civs had only 1-2 cities, even with good spots free and opened just next to them.

    And on my home landmass all of the iron ores spawned just one tile away from the borders of the AIs... so I couldn't settle there, and they themselves couldn't catch. So none of the civs of my home landmass (including me) had ever access to swordsman.

    Amazing, isn't it?
     

Share This Page