1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

AI & Promotions

Discussion in 'Community Patch Project' started by tothePAIN, Jun 26, 2019.

1. tothePAIN

tothePAIN Chieftain

Vox Populi Community,

I've noticed that the AI often has level 4 units but they are not upgraded optimally. For example, I've playing a game right now and fighting the Zulu, who has a level 4 archer with Accuracy 3 and Indirect Fire. If it were me, that archer would be upgraded to Accuracy 3 and range.

I'm not a programmer, but could the AI be programmed to upgrade to the powerful level 4 upgrades? I.e. Stalwart & March for melee, Logistics and Range for ranged?

Or would this make the AI too hard?

2. tu_79

tu_79 Warlord

We purposely made promotions flexible, or AI friendly, meaning that even when picked randomly, AI could make something out of it.

Vanilla promotions where rough and flat terrain were given bonuses was quite the opposite, and very hard for the AI to make good combos. But if you look at how current promotion trees are built, you'll notice that most promotions work together. For example indirect fire ends up being taken along extra range and medic, which is much better than being taken along logistics or infiltration. You could argue that it's better to get extra range first, indirect fire later (though it really depends on the terrain), but overall it's working quite well.

3. HeathcliffWarriors

HeathcliffWarriors Chieftain

Indirect Fire has its situational uses, although I tend to prioritize it on siege units, not ranged.

4. Asterix Rage

Asterix Rage Warlord

I don't know if something has to (and can) be done on what AI pick at level 4 but I believe AI tactical skill could be improved on what AI pick on L1, L2, L3 for its melee Units.