Airships

ahcos

King
Title says it all, and as the search function didn't bring up any good results regarding this topic i decided to start a new one.

Do you build them? How to use them? When? Is it worth beelining them? And everything else that comes up in your mind on this topic.

Personally, i found them to be pretty solid, even though i've never used them before. They prolongue the usefulness of Cavalery a bit further (yeah, i know, some people have done Cavalery+Bombers before...), vs. non-protective leaders it's perfectly fine to fight Rifles with Cavs as long as you bring enough Airships along. They have a good range and aren't countered (except machine guns to some extend) in their era. Have done some worldbuilder testing, like:

6 Cavs, 5 XP (not even Pinch as i forgot about that)

vs.

4 Rifleman, AGG Leader, +3 XP, 80% Culture, on a hill

With Airships i usually won the "second" fight (5th Cav vs. first Rifle for example) or had winning odds, without them it was a slaughterfest.

Same Setup without Hillcity and non-AGG Leader, the odds were even better. With only 40% Culture, they became decent. All these setups are not representative, but they got me thinking. So, what you guys think?

Airships are very good, you should surely build them if you are at war or are planning a war around the time physics comes around.

The recon ability alone makes getting some worth it. Not only can they survey your area to great effect, but they can teleport to any city of a civ you have OB with to have a look at their area.
The attacking ability is also nice for softening up heavy defenders and incoming stacks and one use is to support Cavalry.

I find Physics worth beelining much of the time anyway as it opens up a lot ofuseful techs and the GS is a nice bonus.

There is a recent az let's play where he uses them effectively with cavs

Airships are good, what's more they're cheap and don't have anything to counter them for a long time.