1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

AI's to target for in Domination

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by elister, Oct 8, 2011.

1. elister

elister Chieftain

I recently made a move to Prince from warlord, so I'm still a noob at this. :)

Anyways, my question is; since this is pretty low level, I'm usually the one who gets to DoW first :)
    Also I'm targeting Domination Victory since I think its the easiest one.

My strategy is:
    1. Build 2 cities MAX.
    2. Build/upgrade to swordsman if Iron is already in my tiles OR 3
    3. Build lot's of Archers and Pikeman
    4. rush to nearest AI cities/capital and repeat untill I've at least 60+ GPT ( OK, this is dumb but I use it as a benchmark to focus on Science until Rifling and then repeat..)

My problems so far:
    If I'm not Germany I start to run in -ve GPT ( as I've only two cities)
    Empire is almost always unhappy (as said above) this hurts science a big time but I compensate for it by taking some breathers in between wars, but so far my best is rifling @ 1800 :sad:

I think that if I choose my opponents right I might be able to overcome some of these issue.. so which I AI should I target for when DoWing?

What I'm looking for is whether to go for:
    1. AI which is lowest in Soldier's Demographics score (and is fairly near to me)
    2. AI which has beat me on some very good wonders (HG, Chichen Itza etc.. Gandhi dat stupid old bald guy always beats me to HG)
    3. AI which has luxuries that I don't have (at least 2 unique ones, I mostly run 1-9 unhappy empire when waring)
    4. AI which has more strategic resources (more iron/oil never hurts!)

2. carbontaxes

carbontaxes Chieftain