1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Alien Worlds graphics request

Discussion in 'Civ2 - Scenario League' started by cazfi, Feb 16, 2011.

  1. cazfi

    cazfi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    Finland
    For now on, I'm not going to annouce every update I do to that, but now I have added instructions about adding gfx for unit.
     
  2. cazfi

    cazfi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    Finland
    I don't know how Freeciv Windows packaging is done, so I have to ask: You do get documents like doc/README.rulesets and doc/README.tilesets with it, do you?

    You can of course browse latest versions of those documents directly from version control. Freeciv 2.3 versions are here: http://svn.gna.org/viewcvs/freeciv/branches/S2_3/doc/
     
  3. Ingvar VII

    Ingvar VII Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    So these are always seperate, and need some kind of installer is neede to spare the end user going through all kinds of hassle? I´m not quite sure I follow you here actually.


    The documentation is very useful, thanks for that.
     
  4. cazfi

    cazfi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    Finland
    Well, nothing prevents you from packaging all the files inside same zip instead of having separate zip for each packet type. And as I mentioned earlier, I'm working on utility that will download and install packages automatically. I don't know if its current version made it to beta3 windows packaging.

    Oh, one essential thing I forgot. It's a bit hidden in todays single-player games, but as multiplayer game freeciv is actually two programs; server and client. Each player connects to central server with his/her client. In single-player situation both server and client just are at the same machine, and server is launched automatically. Anyway, rules are something that server needs and forces everybody to follow, so rulesets are installed to server machine. Client is the program that interacts with user, so tilesets and soundsets are installed to client machine.

    This actually could lead us back to alien ruleset that subject claims this thread to be about :)
    If someone wants to test alien ruleset, but does not want the hassle of figuring out how to install it, I can run public server for such a test. There's no need to install anything alien ruleset specific to client end at the moment.
     
  5. CurtSibling

    CurtSibling ENEMY ACE™ SLeague Staff

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    27,879
    Location:
    Innsmouth
    Nice posts, Cazfi! :)

    Bookmarked for study!
     
  6. cazfi

    cazfi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    Finland
    Thank you.

    As you seem to be one of the moderators, if have question to ask.

    Scenario League quite clearly labels itself as civ2 related community. You seem to be cool with one freeciv thread in these forums every couple of years (I'm very thankful for the last time resulting in new default tileset, far superior to what we had before, for freeciv) but what if there would be a bit more freeciv stuff? Should everything any way related to freeciv go to this one thread, or should we have several more focused freeciv threads? What I had in mind as next possible thread was one where I would post when ever new feature relevant to scenario creation is added to freeciv.

    EDIT: Correct place for that particular thread is of course freeciv's own forums http://forum.freeciv.org/index.php There should be no need to post same information to SL also, as any SL member interested in freeciv scenario creation also should follow those forums.
     
  7. cazfi

    cazfi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    Finland
    I opened wishlist ticket about this in our bug tracker: http://gna.org/bugs/index.php?17760 That way it's not only something I alone from devteam members have heard and in worst case forgotten, but something that has to be handled somehow (in the unlikely worst case: decision is made that we will never implement this)

    If you have other similar things in mind, you can open such items yourself here: http://gna.org/bugs/?func=additem&group=freeciv

    When this is ready, you will be credited in commit message ("Requested by...") Do you wan to go by name Harry Tuttle, or by some other name, there?
     
  8. cazfi

    cazfi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    Finland
    btw. I'm freeciv upstream developer, but I have no problem with all the forks there is. If people want to start their own project based on freeciv codebase, it only shows that our base is good starting point. One such fork is freeciv.net, playable on your web browser. I have not tested it too much myself, and I believe he had to remove several features from freeciv to make it work, but you may take a look at it if you don't want to install freeciv. You can play at http://www.freeciv.net (Our address being http://www.freeciv.org (.org))
     
  9. cazfi

    cazfi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    Finland
    I have to take this back. Memory failed me.

    I'm trying to create document with tables about equivalent civ2 triggers -> freeciv signals and civ2 actions -> freeciv events (different terminology, even different meaning for same words, doesn't help) I don't have mapping for everything. Either I miss something this time, or equivalent functionality does not exist in freeciv (or is not documented!)

    EDIT: This is what you get when you don't use proper tracker tickets for handling issues. What I have probably thought at the time was "Ah, these missing ones are relatively easy to add. I'll do it some night." and then forgotten.
     
  10. CurtSibling

    CurtSibling ENEMY ACE™ SLeague Staff

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    27,879
    Location:
    Innsmouth
    SL is for CIV2, not just related to it.
    Though, if you need helpers, we are happy to assist.

    It might be best to create one sticky thread for Freeciv/CIV2 cross-over works, and
    keep all related content in there. Or you could request Freeciv gets its own area?

    Being a minor form of life on CFC, I can't make a definite ruling on such a policy.
    If you contact our admin, Ainwood, he will be able to outline the situation.

    :)
     
  11. Strelok22

    Strelok22 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Location:
    Vidin,Bulgaria
    Here you go mate.Alien terrain inbound

    :goodjob:
     

    Attached Files:

  12. cazfi

    cazfi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    Finland
    Wow! Thank you!

    Now I only have to figure out how I can open rar (it not being too standard format across different OSes)
     
  13. cazfi

    cazfi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    Finland
    I apologize in advance. English is not my native tongue, and I really don't know how to put this politely. I have to be blatantly honest. I hope nobody takes this personally.

    From how you guys have compared civ2 macro language and freeciv scripting possibilities, I have assumed civ2 language to be really good. Even my own opinion about freeciv scripting is that it's still "initial version" to be improved upon real needs of users as those become apparent.
    Now, when I read Macros.txt again, I'm surprised how small set of triggers and actions there is. Even this "initial version" of freeciv scripting, while not strictly superset of civ2 language (there are things you can do in civ2 you cannot do in freeciv), provides much more.
     
  14. Ingvar VII

    Ingvar VII Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    I don't see how anyone should be offended.
    The point is not that Civ 2 has so much variety in scripting to offer, the point is that it offers so much in such a simple way.
     
  15. cazfi

    cazfi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    Finland
    This is more like notes to support writing such document than actual document but as I don't know when I will have time to improve this, I'm sharing it here already:
    http://www.cazfi.net/freeciv/ConvertingCivMacros.txt
     
  16. cazfi

    cazfi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    Finland
    Now, this may clears one fundamental misunderstanding I have had in our communication. You are not requesting more but existing options to be presented simpler way? I admit Harry Tuttle already hinted that way, but I thought his request for simplicity to be just (minor) addition to other requests.

    It's almost unavoidable that more powerful system is more complex. Freeciv often chooses to sacrifice simplicity for flexibility and power. I have to admit that I have a large role in this philosophy, as I myself want the freedom to adjust game big way. I don't think this philosophy is going to change. To override my opinion, other devs should feel quite strongly about need to go the other way.
     
  17. Ingvar VII

    Ingvar VII Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    I have had an idea for a while, of making a new version of the MOO2 scenario.

    I now wonder if I should go ahead with it, perhaps on FreeCiv.

    Pros:
    More Civs.
    More unit slots.(Makes balancing even harder I guess....)
    More technologies.
    Larger map.

    Cons:
    Overall almost everything seems more complicated.

    One question: Can I create "wormholes"? Simply a square that moves the ship entering to another pre-determined square.

    Another one about technologies: can I make requirements for technologies that only one of the available is necessary?

    Say I have a tech named D.
    The techs A, B, C, all lead to it, but it is only necessary to research one of them to be able to research tech D.
     
  18. cazfi

    cazfi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    Finland
    In theory, yes.

    BUT I don't think anyone has ever seriously used freeciv code that would handle this, and it seems a bit fragile to me. So, before I promise to you that it works, I'll test it a bit.

    I can't figure out any way to achieve this with current freeciv. I'm currently quite swamped with different tasks and cannot promise to implement required features immediately. I'll do some thinking anyway.

    In your example there is three possible prerequisites (A, B, C). Can this number of prerequisites be limited (and to what value) or must it be unlimited? Should it be possible to have mixed cases where you need A and either B or C?
     
  19. CurtSibling

    CurtSibling ENEMY ACE™ SLeague Staff

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    27,879
    Location:
    Innsmouth
    I will admit that the idea of planning a FreeCiv scenario with tons of nations and units makes me salivate!

    But as Harry says, we would need a modding system that a non-programmer can get his head around.

    If FreeCiv could be easily modded for scenarios and events, then a creative explosion could happen.

    No-one expects miracles and we know this huge effort is non-profit, but it is something to aim for.

    :)
     
  20. McMonkey

    McMonkey ----Evertonian---- SLeague Staff

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,934
    Location:
    Cardiff
    I would be less put off downloading FreeCiv if it was packaged as a traditional game that I could just run a installation launcher and everything just happened. When I have looked at FreeCiv in the past it looked a bit to much effort to get into for the layman.

    The idea of bigger maps, extra civs and being able to make alterations to the game mechanics is appealing. However I wonder what would happen if I was given so much freedom. With Civ2 there are limits and when you have done all you can within those limits you know your project is finished. If I could do anything I wanted I don't think I would ever finish anything as there would always be something else I would want to add. At the moment I think I still have a fair way to go with ToT, a lot to learn and a lot of ideas to try out. I don't think I have the time in my life for FreeCiv but I will certainly be as supportive as I can as I think it is a noble project!
     

Share This Page