1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

All the ways to get free settlers

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Strategy & Tips' started by FriKitty, Jan 29, 2020.

  1. FriKitty

    FriKitty Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Female
    Hello everyone! I'm having a bit of a specific issue and Google doesn't help that much.

    What are all the ways that AI can get free settlers? It doesn't have to be easy, just possible. I know just these:

    -One free settler at the start of the game
    -Some ancient ruins give settlers
    -Defeating barbarians can give settlers (I'm not sure about this one)
    -Deity difficulty gives another settler to AI

    You guys know anything else?

    The reason is, since I started playing Civ3, I've always enjoyed playing alone. And Civ5 won't give me that option natively, so I used the mod "Really Advanced Setup", I even had to go find an older version to get the "optional settlers" option and so give AI no settlers at the start. But then, if no barbarian killed them, they'd eventually find an ancient ruin that gave them a settler. I just want to avoid the AI civilization to have one settler until I find the non-combat unit I gave them and kill it.

    If there is an unavoidable free settlers I guess I'll have to turn on barbarians and hope they get killed soon but... If possible I'd like to play with no barbarians too. Or maybe have less of them on the map, they're kinda annoying.
     
  2. so_what

    so_what Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2019
    Messages:
    66
    Liberty - collective rule
    Venice - optic
     
  3. raider980

    raider980 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    495
    How did the AI get a settler from Ancient Ruins? The player can't get settlers from the ruins, at least not in BNW. Unless the mod you're using introduces it. And killing barbs doesn't give settlers either without mods.
     
  4. Nizef

    Nizef King

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2018
    Messages:
    881
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Finland
    On Settler difficulty the player can indeed get a settler from a ruin, if I am not mistaken.
     
  5. FriKitty

    FriKitty Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Female
    Must be this! I got one the other day and the only mod I have is the one I said.

    ... Ah. Well, I don't have Venice (I only have base game) but if Liberty gives a settler to AI as well... then my only option must be to turn barbarians on and let AI get killed soon.

    Welp, still better than actual wars.

    Or... I mean... can you get culture points without having at least a city? Would it be possible to get that free settler in this situation?
     
  6. bobbobbybobbob

    bobbobbybobbob Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2019
    Messages:
    60
    Gender:
    Male
    How can defeating barbarians or a barbarian camp give free settlers?

    You wanna play alone? Uhhh.. how come? I mean I guess you could play on Settler and on the smallest map. Wipe the AI of the planet and choice "one more turn" after you get the domination victory. Or you could just add anyone on the forum. You then host a game with a friend and the friend deletes the settler and leaves. There is probably possible to just remove the AI settler by installing some mod that allows you to manipulate the game how you want to play it.
     
  7. Xiomn

    Xiomn Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 6, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Doesn't the AI get a free settler form the Authority tree in Vox Populi?
    I limited all my games so Civs can only settle 4 cities (+1 if they go authority). Much funner game when the entire map isn't spammed with every Civ having 10+ cities.. especially when there's 30+ civs in a game.
    You can edit the free units ai get at the beginning of the game in civilisations XML file under freeunits category.
     
  8. Phil Ken Sebben

    Phil Ken Sebben Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Ya, the city spam in this game can sometimes get out of control. The AI actually seems to think - contrary to Civ 6's - and often claims places with good resources before I can get to them.

    I appreciate the tips for free settlers.
     

Share This Page