1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Am I doing anything wrong, here?

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Strategy & Tips' started by CivFan91, Sep 17, 2005.

  1. DaveMcW

    DaveMcW Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    6,489
    Stop building military in cities without barracks!

    MoM is useless, change it to another wonder or build an improvement instead. Or even better, keep building settlers Lagos.

    You need more workers. Switch half your towns (the most corrupt ones) to building workers.
     
  2. CivFan91

    CivFan91 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,590
    Location:
    USA
    @berserks01 - great idea! I'll be sure to try that. I'm tired after getting back to school fot the first time this week (had the flu, as you know) so I'll wait a while to begin.

    @DaveMcW - MoM is no more than a colosseum, I know. It's a placeholder so when I can build Temple of Artemis, I can do it like *snap* that. And I'll worry about Veteran units when I will need them, which is when my borders get disturbingly close to the Aztecs. I have some room yet. I am using the Horses as Scouts to clear out Barbs right now. You see, the first time I played Round X, a Settler was killed by a Barb Horseman. I forgot to save it, and even uploaded the log and the screenie, and realized that the screenie showed Turn 90! I had no choice but to know what was coming. Ironically, when I used the Horsemen to patrol, I found no sign of the Barbs. The computer knows when you are prepared.

    I'm not totally crazy; I do know what Wonders are useless. ;)
     
  3. berserks01

    berserks01 Obviously Very Confused

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,727
    Location:
    MA
    Not really. If you have preserve random seed on, the events will randomize when you reload.
     
  4. CivFan91

    CivFan91 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,590
    Location:
    USA
    Oh. Either way, I'm going to start Round XI now. See you in about 15 minutes!
     
  5. CivFan91

    CivFan91 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,590
    Location:
    USA
    I know I will probably get blasted for this. Didn't want to auto-raze a city of size 1 that had ToA. My science sped up, BTW:

    ROUND XI: TURNS 101-110

    Turn 101
    Braga builds Worker. Building Horseman.
    Braga's Worker Renamed "TimBentley"
    Pillaged connection to Iron 1.
    Pillaged connection to Iron 2.
    The following cities are now building Warriors:
    Coimbra
    Evora
    Emerita.

    Turn 102
    Guamaraes riots! After Lux is at 20!
    Emerita bulds Warrior. Continued.
    Coimbra builds Warrior. Continued.
    Evora builds Warrior.
    Production in Sagres changed to Settler.

    Turn 103
    Traded CoL to Hiawatha for Mathematics and 3 Gold.
    Other leaders are technologically advanced! They want 470 Gold a tech. Not a chance! I may have to use my embassies... lemme see the cost... @#!t!!! May as well buy them.
    Berserks01, the jungle is clear, and you are alive! You will now clear forest near the same city.

    Turn 104
    The Aztecs are building the Temple of Artemis! NOOO! I may have to do something drastic.
    Aztecs complete the Oracle.
    BYZANTINES are building the Temple!
    Byzantines complete the Colossus.

    I... I bought Polythesium. I figure, it doesn't matter how much it costs, since I still have 648, more than 10 times what they have. And I am making a fantastic amount of GPT. The benefit from the Temple will be worth it... Yes, I am trying to not feel guilty... I will conquer them later...

    Lisbon's production changed to Temple of Artemis (62 turns)
    Sao Paulo founded near Flood Plains. I will need substantial irrigation in the regular Desert squares.

    Turn 105
    Coimbra builds Warrior. Continued.
    Faro builds Worker. Continued.
    Theo builds embassy.
    Iron 1 restored.
    Now building Barracks:
    Coimbra
    Lieria
    Sagres

    Lagos building Great Library. That'll even the techs right quick...
    Scouting Horseman found another Goody Hut, right next to Aztec territory!

    Turn 106
    Theo offers Maps in exchange for 410 Gold. Ha!
    Oporto builds Settler. Now building Barracks.
    Emerita builds Warrior. Now Barracks.
    I checked to see if Lux was important. I set it to 10%, but Lagos was about to riot even at 20%. I took off a worker and made him a clown.
    Popped the Hut and got 50 Gold.

    Turn 107
    Lisbon riots, now! AACK!
    Coimbra builds Warrior. Barracks...

    Turn 108
    Leiria builds Barracks. Now Settler.

    Turn 109
    I HAVE REPUBLIC! :woohoo: Headed for Map Making, so I can get Galleys and Lighthouse. BTW, I am planning on revolt, right now.
    Almost all cities are rioting. No surprise there.
    My Workers are not working well. BERSERKS01!! Get your @$$ in gear on that Forest! Pronto! ;)
    Just realized the Iroquois are connected to me. That sea was no more than a long bay. Odd...

    Turn 110
    Barb Warrior came near the City with the Iron 2, so I had to pick him off. My warrior sustained 1 HP damage.
    Sagres' production back to Settler (-- turns)

    GOVERNMENT: Anarchy
    TREASURY: 916 Gold
    PER TURN: 0
    SCIENCE: Halted
     

    Attached Files:

    • Log.JPG
      Log.JPG
      File size:
      195.3 KB
      Views:
      135
  6. CivFan91

    CivFan91 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,590
    Location:
    USA
    Aw, Aztecs, Iroquois, and I are in a big group hug! :joke:
     
  7. DaveMcW

    DaveMcW Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    6,489
    You are going to have a huge upkeep in Republic. You will need to disband obsolete units, and road all your worked tiles ASAP. More settlers helps too...

    I would tell the governor to manage moods in all cities. Going into disorder every 10 turns is really bad.

    Sao Paulo should have been built on the hill, now you need to build a colony on the gems if you want them anytime soon.

    Stop mining Braga - you can build an irrigation path from Sao Paulo and let it grow bigger than 2.
     
  8. Obormot

    Obormot Old warmonger

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,781
    Location:
    Russia
    Lack of workers seems to be your biggest problem. It is better to have 5 towns with high population and all worked tile improved then 20 size 1-3 towns with little or no improvements.
     
  9. berserks01

    berserks01 Obviously Very Confused

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,727
    Location:
    MA
    Hmm...I know what you're missing now. There are 3 utilities out there that helps alot in civ. MapStat, CrpSuite, and CivAssistII. I'm personally using CivAssistII.

    What it does is it creates a little icon right under the 3 icons on the top left in the game while you're playing. Check it every turn you play, after you finish checking minimize the window and it'll simply go back to the little icon. It tells you when other civs have new techs to trade, when a city is about to riot, and while at war when the opposing civ is ready to negotiate peace treaty among a ton of other things.

    It's very useful, the only problem I have with it is that when a city is about to grow it does not know if that city will riot or not. But it does tell you when a city is about to grow, all you need to do is check if the number of happy citizens is greater than the number of unhappy citizen then you're fine. But if they're equal, then you might want to up the lux slider or make a specialist unless you have a temple that will produce a content face.
     
  10. Obormot

    Obormot Old warmonger

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,781
    Location:
    Russia
    You don't have to up the lux slider in advance, you can do it after the city grows and don't get any riots.
     
  11. berserks01

    berserks01 Obviously Very Confused

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,727
    Location:
    MA
    Really? I've had it riot on me a couple of times, that's how I learned to check for the type of citizen borned so I can prevent it.
     
  12. CivFan91

    CivFan91 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,590
    Location:
    USA
    I know it's hard to see in my screenshot, but there is a mountain blocking irrigation at Coimbra, let alone Braga.

    Thought I did... oops. I can build roads there and let it expand with ToA, maybe. Or some cultural improvement.

    All right, good ideas. I'll re-name my first Veteran unit after you...

    If I do that, will I be able to play an MP game with someone who doesn't? I'd hate to have to leave the game, uninstall CivAssistII, play MP, reinstall... I'll let you get back to me before I d/l it.
     
  13. gmaharriet

    gmaharriet Ancient Crone

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4,118
    Location:
    Northern California
    The utilities are completely separate programs that you open (or not) in addition to the game itself. If you are playing MP with someone who does not have them, just don't open them.

    Warning...I've found it almost impossible to play with both CAII and Mapstat open at the same time. The alerts don't work for me as they are supposed to, but seem to sorta cancel each other out.
     
  14. berserks01

    berserks01 Obviously Very Confused

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,727
    Location:
    MA
    You have to turn on CivAssistII every time you start/load a game, so if you don't turn it on you don't use it.

    You can irrigate to Braga and Coimbra from Sao Paulo.
     
  15. Admiral Kutzov

    Admiral Kutzov Idiot Emeritus

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    4,900
    Location:
    Central Pennsyltucky
    yo C3Cfanatic0014, igor and the idiot contingent have commentary. We most respectfully request you PM or post a save (idiots need details)
     
  16. CivFan91

    CivFan91 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,590
    Location:
    USA
    Erm, what would a post of the save do? I don't want someone to play the game for me. I want to go through the game, and have people tell me where I screw up. Then, I correct the problems. People do things better themselves, even if people are there to help. I can assure you, I will be a Monarch player by the time this thread needs closing. Too lazy to read the log? Then don't bother. I try to keep the log as readable as possible. Let me know what your problem is with reading it, and I'll correct it. Paragraphs too long? I'll space them out more.

    As for the PM method, what if two commentators say different things? The two need to know there is a disagreement, so it can be worked out. :p
     
  17. CivFan91

    CivFan91 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,590
    Location:
    USA
    Okay, d/l'ed CivAssistII. I'm going to try it out.
     
  18. gmaharriet

    gmaharriet Ancient Crone

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4,118
    Location:
    Northern California
    That seems a bit rude to me, and you're misunderstanding the whole point. Experienced players can find problems in your save with things it would never occur to you to put in a log because you don't KNOW that there's a problem.

    I don't believe Admiral K has any interest in actually playing out your game for you, but I'll bet he (and many other good players here) would be able to give you even more ideas than you're already getting.

    I'd recommend you be polite to players who are offering their assistance.
     
  19. Admiral Kutzov

    Admiral Kutzov Idiot Emeritus

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    4,900
    Location:
    Central Pennsyltucky
    thanks gma. i intended no offense and certainly did not intend to play the game for you. I did read your posts and was impressed until this. I was gonna take a look at your MM of the cities and make a suggestion if need be.

    you're right, I'm stupid :crazyeye:

    just offering u an option.

    I will not intrude further.

    Hope your life is interesting in the chinese sense.
     
  20. Heroes

    Heroes Heroes of Might and Magic

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    869
    Dude, I am a Chinese, but sorry I don't know what does that mean ... :)
     

Share This Page