Amphibius battleships :D

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Defiant, Nov 20, 2005.

  1. Defiant

    Defiant Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Ok this is not photoshoped or edited in any way, and it's not moded neither.
    It happend when i attacked a galleon with my BS. the ship seperated from the flag and hekth bar and started going east, it kept going around the globe (over land, mountains cities, etc.) until i clicked the place where it were on the next turn. Did it happen to anyone else? Besides this game runs pefectly, i havent had a CTD since i bought this game more than 2 weeks ago.
    Here are some pics



     
  2. R-A-N-M-A

    R-A-N-M-A Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    Canookada.
    I have seen my city status bar separate from one of my cities and leae the screne but it returned when I centred on it.
     
  3. UnitQ

    UnitQ #1 Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Messages:
    430
    wow, hopefully it doesn't happen again
     
  4. The Last Conformist

    The Last Conformist Irresistibly Attractive

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    27,779
    Location:
    Not on your side
    One of my caravels traveled straight over a peninsula when I gave it a goto order to the other side.
     
  5. Pentium

    Pentium Digital Matter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    2,673
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    How did you manage to get consecutive screenshots?
     
  6. Kolyana

    Kolyana Czarina

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    651
    Probably just kept hitting PRNTSRN.

    I've seen equally bizarre graphical behavior, like a foot unit sliding all the way off to the right of the screen, or in from the right, even if it's over water. There's a bug here, for sure.
     
  7. BeefontheBone

    BeefontheBone Windbag of the sea

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,018
    Happens to me quite a lot - I've had tanks and so on wander across water to make their attacks, and groups of horse archers sitting happily in 3 different parts of the map, then riding in to form up a posse when I move them. The last one looks kinda cool, but there's definitely an issue with the combat animations.
     
  8. analyst

    analyst Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Messages:
    43
    same thing happened to me - my battle ship circled the globe once, going over land and mountains, and then finally wound back at his original square and attacked as normal :p
     
  9. FraggyFragbait

    FraggyFragbait Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    I've never had anything as cool as that happen in my game..just plain old Civ for me! Some people get all the fun ;)
     
  10. AlazkanAssassin

    AlazkanAssassin Engineer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,310
    Location:
    Maryland
    It is a glitch involving where the world wraps around and connects with itself. The code doesn't handle attacking over that line properly. Look on the mini-map where the battle occured. It's right on the edge of the map.
     
  11. Rik Meleet

    Rik Meleet Top predator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    11,980
    Location:
    Nijmegen Netherlands
    It is know. See Bug reports.
    I had workers running the globe in the same way. It has to do with the extreme-east and the extreme-west of the map not really being connected correctly. I suppose it will be solved in the patch.
     
  12. Abaddon

    Abaddon Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    31,182
    Location:
    NES/FG/SF Activity:Arguing the toss
    what a delightful bug!
     
  13. Junuxx

    Junuxx Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,153
    Yep, I've had that bug quite some times.
     

Share This Page