1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

An Empty World

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rhye's and Fall of Civilization' started by Barak, Aug 4, 2006.

  1. Barak

    Barak Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,482
    Location:
    Chicago
    I started a new game in 1.00 as Arabia. At the start I noticed a great deal of black around me. Urshalim, As-Sur, Sana'a and Parsa flipped to me :D . Then I noticed why....Persia, Greece, Egypt and Rome no longer exist. The world is barbarian!

    The east still lives, but Europe and the Mesopotamia are all barbarian.

    This will be a FUN game I think, too bad my units will be limited in exp to 10.
     
  2. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    I fear this could be a bug. If you can, post the log and the save.

    However it's more likely that they will resurrect..
     
  3. Barak

    Barak Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,482
    Location:
    Chicago
  4. Barak

    Barak Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,482
    Location:
    Chicago
    When could they resurrect?
     
  5. Barak

    Barak Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,482
    Location:
    Chicago
    Still playing that game (a real challenge).

    Spain spawned as expected. Due to barbarian city flips, they now have 5 cities in Iberia.

    France also spawned as expected, Bordeaux is the capital however, not Paris.

    Interestingly enough the barbarian Axe and Swords are not attacking them...only me :(

    India has fallen to the barbarian state as well.

    Also....the cities that fliped to me did not get temple nor cathedral.
     
  6. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    i think this barbarian triumph is due to the capitals collapse condition. I'll disable it for barbarians. See the v100 log for resurrection conditions.

    EDIT: no it's already disabled.
     
  7. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,691
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    In my Rome game, Persia, India and China were all destroyed by barbarians. As a matter of fact, they are very developed barbarian countries! I think the AI can´t handle too many barbarians very well...
     
  8. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,691
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    That happened to me too...
     
  9. Arkaeyn

    Arkaeyn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    936
    Location:
    nomad, USA
    What level are you playing on? Sounds like 1.00 might have some barbie balance bugs.
     
  10. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,691
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    Monarch is the middle one, right? That one.
     
  11. fenceman

    fenceman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Seattle
    A similar thing happened to me, I was playing as America on monarch, at first nothing seemed wrong, the Aztecs were in the south, the British came and began to colonize a few turns after I started, i met the spanish and the french, but after exploring the world more I realized that everything between spain and Japan belonged to barbarians! The only nations left were me (America), England, Spain, Japan, Mali, Aztecs, Mongolia, Incans and France, of thoes, only Spain and Mali were christian, and Japan and Mongolia were confusist, none of them had a holy city. As I continued to play I watched as the barbarians crept farther west into europe, killing off france and taking the eastern spanish cities.
     
  12. the_problem

    the_problem Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Perth
    My world is quite empty too. I am playing as Persia on Monarch at about 720 AD. China, Greece and India (by me) are dead, in the world builder i can see Rome is restricted to Italy and has rebuilt its northern city,Egypt has been pillaged completely by barbarian camel archers, and should soon collapse. Rome had captured Constantinople, but recently lost it, so many barbarians are starting to attack me from the west. Three or four horse archers spawn west of the himalayas every few turns which are soon stopped by a garrison on hills/forest there, but i think an AI would have been crushed long ago, leaving a more empty world like others have reported. All the jungle in India has really been helpful, it has stopped all the barbarians who ravaged China attacking me, though I think they have begun taking the long way through central Asia. I think Spain and France will be very powerful when they spawn, as there are many barbarian cities in western/SW Europe.
     
  13. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,691
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    Now with 101 the barbs are not too bad, but in my latest "American Run", India, China and Persia fell to barbs again.
     

Share This Page