An idea: change the color of cities' trade icons when connected by RR to the capital

Discussion in 'Communitas Expansion Pack' started by Pep, Mar 29, 2012.

  1. Pep

    Pep King

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Location:
    Spain
    Now, you have to enter a city to know if it's connected by railroad to the capital. I propose the following change: set the trade icon's color to another one (instead of the default yellow) so it can be seen on the map at a glance if a city is connected by railroad or only by road to the capital.
     
  2. Torvald

    Torvald Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    307
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX, USA
    That's an interesting idea you've suggested, and I kind of like it.

    Right now it's rather hard to visually differentiate between road and railroad hexes, so using a different color (or perhaps even a different symbol) would be of benefit.
     
  3. Delgar

    Delgar Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Or, you could also add a small railroad icon next to the trade icon...
     
  4. sukritact

    sukritact Artist and Modder

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,903
    Location:
    Bangkok
    A color change would be more intuitive.
     
  5. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    Good idea. I'm not sure it's possible to detect if a city is connected by a railroad, however. I'll ask in the main modding forum.
     
  6. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    Okay, I figured out a way to do it. Which icons would you like?



    The current icon is E4 :c5trade:.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. orangecape

    orangecape Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    C6 looks right to me - it is similar enough to be easily recognizable as a 'connected' symbol but different enough to be easily distinguishable.
     
  8. Jaybe

    Jaybe civus fanaticus Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    C6 or E8?
    Are they used anywhere else?
     
  9. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    I used C6 in a few places to indicate work rate changes, but I could alter those to C5.
     
  10. albie_123

    albie_123 Modding In Secret

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW
    I'm guessing you meant B6.

    What I would really like is for all instances of E4 to be changed to B6 and vice versa, and then C6 be the Railroad connection. Failing that, C6 for the railroad, definitely.

    Incidentally, do C8 through C9 ever show up in vanilla?
     
  11. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    I don't think the later ones are in vanilla.

    I used silver (C6) for the Pyramids to make it more distinct from regular trade routes. The only downside of the borderless varieties is they're harder to see on the map. The gold one might be good for roads, and gold+black for railroads... with the black border representing the added power. It's a shame we can't create new icons... but at least we have some flexibility here.
     
  12. albie_123

    albie_123 Modding In Secret

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW
    Yeah, your idea sounds best.

    Icon creation is something that CiV modding could really, really use, merely from an Aesthetic point of view. Oh well.
     

Share This Page