1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Anarchy and gpt trades

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by Delphi456, Jan 16, 2010.

  1. Delphi456

    Delphi456 Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I thought I read somewhere that if you enter anarchy while giving gpt to another AI (because of a trade), you won't suffer a rep hit. Is this true?
     
  2. Spoonwood

    Spoonwood Grand Philosopher

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    Ohio
    I believe you'll pay the gpt until it goes to 0, and then you won't lose units and won't have to pay the gpt until you emerge from anarchy. I recall something like this happening in one game, but I could be very wrong here.
     
  3. Lord Emsworth

    Lord Emsworth Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,951
    Location:
    On a shipchain
    If your cash goes to 0, the AI will still continue to receive the full amount of gpt. It is just that the money doesn't come from anywhere.

    You will not suffer a rep-hit, that is correct. You won't also lose any buildings or units, because you do not pay any upkeep and maintenance to begin with. But you might possibly break HoF or GotM rules.
     
  4. Jivilov

    Jivilov Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    324
    OK, so assuming you're trying to "play fair" (even if the AI doesn't) how do you avoid this situation? Should you wait until all gpt deals are finished before going into Anarchy, or is there some way to predict how much gold you'll need to cover revenue losses? Thanks.

    Edit: In the same vein, if your capital goes to anarchy (EDIT: meant to say civil DISORDER), does it affect any trades, gpt or otherwise? Reason I ask is 'cuz my last game (as Chinese on DG) I triggered a guv change while a luxury resource trade with the Iroquois was ongoing. After anarchy was over they wouldn't trade anymore and nobody was willing to do any gpt's, with the solitary exception of Xerxes after what proved to be an illusory won war (the island town, right offshore from my modest isle, without any border contact with its motherland and with my culture pressing upon it, flipped anyway). Sorry but I didn't check to see if the Iroquois trade expired during the anarchy period.
     
  5. Lord Emsworth

    Lord Emsworth Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,951
    Location:
    On a shipchain
    How to avoid such a situation? Switch governments once, fairly early, to either Republic or Monarchy and the 'problem' shouldn't really pose. If you get into a situation where, when you are in Anarchy, you can't pay your GPT deals from your funds, consider hiring tax collectors.


    About the rest, I am not quite sure what you are asking.
     
  6. Jivilov

    Jivilov Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    324
    Thanks Lord Em. "The rest" was basically asking if your capital goes into civil DISORDER (not Anarchy, sorry for the kipper), does that effectively "disconnect" your capital so it can't continue a resource export? I presume not, but just wanted to be sure. Thanks again.
     
  7. Lord Emsworth

    Lord Emsworth Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,951
    Location:
    On a shipchain
    You are right, civil disorder does not disconnect anything.
     

Share This Page