1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

And now for a thread NOT about A Game of Thrones. Let's talk about WorldBuilder.

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by UnholyMudcrab, May 12, 2012.

  1. UnholyMudcrab

    UnholyMudcrab Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Missouri
    Lately it seems like I'm addicted to WorldBuilder. I'm sure some of you know the feeling:

    "Man, this city sure would benefit from some more food. I'm sure no one would care if this wet corn appeared out of nowhere. And while we're at it, let's add a couple workers, because you can never have too many, right?" ;)

    or

    "This enemy city is really heavily defended, and it's on a hill to boot! Why don't we delete a few archers and turn the hill into grassland. Even the odds a bit, you know?"

    It's gotten to the point where I bring up WB every time I run into a little problem, almost like a reflex. I haven't had a "legitimate" win (defined by me as a win where WB wasn't used) in some time. :( Any tips on breaking my WB addiction would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. elmurcis

    elmurcis Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,136
    Location:
    Latvia
    If use World Builder than use it with full power.. i love sometimes make my capital as superpower with 16 forested flood plain gold mines (I guess that was the way to get 3F 2H 8C per tile) + 4 forested fish tiles (gives 6F 1H 3C before Moai + 50% defense and 2x movement) with all other game resources around it in 3rd and 4th circle... and.... play 1 City Challenge on some high level for fun :D
    After that its much easier to play normal game without WB :)
     
  3. Seraiel

    Seraiel If you want anything from I please ask in German

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    8,165
    Gender:
    Male
  4. SyntaxError

    SyntaxError ...

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Use the "Lock Modified Assets" and that will definitely stop you from using World Builder.
     
  5. TheWilltoAct

    TheWilltoAct I am observe

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,874
    Location:
    Exiled from Fribbulus Xax
    An easier game is not necessarily more fun, but no one likes to take a beating either.

    My advice would be to find a difficulty level where you can pursue the aspects that you find most enjoyable. If you're achieving your goals you should have confidence in your abilities, which should help keep the game 'clean' so to speak. :thumbsup:
     
  6. Quibblesome

    Quibblesome Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Only time I use world build is on a game I feel like I've already won and killing off the game would be a chore.

    5 modern armours next to each enemy city and victory on the next turn! :)
     
  7. Archon_Wing

    Archon_Wing Vote for me or die

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    5,089
    Gender:
    Male
    Learn to deal with adversity. Don't be like "this looks too hard to deal with, I'm gonna delete it!"
     
  8. Ambidexter

    Ambidexter Edjumacated Idjit

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    388
    Location:
    Connecticut
    The only time in the past several years that I've used worldbuilder was during a Revolutions Mod game when Monty declared war on me and I had no idea where his empire was. So I revealed the map, found the Aztecs, and then closed worldbuilder.
     
  9. Seraiel

    Seraiel If you want anything from I please ask in German

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    8,165
    Gender:
    Male
    Only time I ever used Worldbuilder was to look at the differences between Tropical, Temperate, Arid and Rocky maps and to see the different map-scripts.

    Using Worldbuilder in a game one plays, means, one is cheating onesself, and that's the lamest thing one can do. If one plays forum-games and cheats others, that's not that bad, cheating on onesself is always the worst case, because it shows, that oneself can't stand the truth.

    I can understand that it begins as thought "fun" , but everybody who cheats lives a lie. Tell yourself that everytime you want to, if it's ok for you, it's ok, if it's not, join HoF Community and let yourself get controlled by Denniz and Methos, then you have absolutely no chance to cheat yourself.
     
  10. nfw

    nfw King

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    733
    I've used WB to resurrect dead civilizations to make things interesting, or assign cities between my vassals, and once or twice I unvasslized civs as part of peace treaties (features that should be in the game to begin with)

    Sometimes I also use it to get rid of those pesky 1 square islands, and once I created a landbridge between my continent and my rivals, because I didn't feel like building transports.
     
  11. gps

    gps King

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    885
    This. I never used it in any game I still intended to finish. If a game is lost, it's lost. I rather abandon it than cheat myself with worldbuilder. I guess this is all just a matter of attitude... ;) All you have to do is try to get the proper one.
     
  12. RakeWorm

    RakeWorm Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    I didn't even realize there was a worldbuilder until a couple days ago when I accidently clicked on it in the menu. I can't think of a reason I'd ever go in, except to look at different map types after they generate.
     
  13. jordiflor

    jordiflor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Well, first step when you want to get rid of any addiction is to recognize it and publicly confess your bad habits. So you are on the right path ;)
    I stopped smoking three months ago. When a friend ask me how did I do, my answer is always the same: Simply I haven't light any cigarette again. That's what you need to do: DO NOT CLICK ON THAT WorldBuilder BUTTON AND DON'T PRES Ctrl+W ANYMORE NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!!!!
     
  14. Pisskop

    Pisskop Goblin Axeman

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Connecticut
    I use it only to discern an 'even spread' when messing with mods. I dispise when an otherwise challenging ai starts in that patch of crap surrounded by snow/mountain/ocean.

    Also, occassionally I drop uranium and oil by AIs starter cities... esp if they are on an island.

    If I am about to lose I usually spawn barb infantry and nukes. They typically raise hell and annihilate the world.
     
  15. Toon Link

    Toon Link Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Georgia
    The only time I've used WB to cheat was when Bismarck declared war on me simply because he hated me (through no fault of mine) so I just restored friendly relations. But after that he was friendly forever. It was kind of creepy.

    And 1-tile islands are both annoying and just wierd.
     
  16. nfw

    nfw King

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    733
    Oh another time after I won domination, there were still some decent sized nations left, so I gave everyone every tech, then declared war on them all
     
  17. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Forum Buzzkill Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    8,402
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    I've never used it in a game, but I do use it frequently to check mod art, or to set up a situation where an event that I'm working on might trigger. In those cases I play a few turns.

    It's natural for humans to want to take the easy way out and use WB. The problem is that the game becomes less fun. Eventually, the person will quit out of boredom and miss all of the wonderfulness and majesty of Civ4. :(

    @Jordiflor
    As a former nurse, I applaud your choice in quitting smoking. Well done, and congratulations!

    :band:
     
  18. gps

    gps King

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    885
    Fully agree. I think they made it a little bit too easy to access it. At least they should have left a note in the replay whenever WB is used - as they do for new sessions started.
     
  19. Seraiel

    Seraiel If you want anything from I please ask in German

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    8,165
    Gender:
    Male
    Then I must be unnatural. I always seek the hard way. :mad:
     
  20. UnholyMudcrab

    UnholyMudcrab Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Missouri
    Doesn't that also lock out any mods you're using?

    Also, I had no idea that WB was so frowned upon here. All the extra incentive to stop using it, I guess. :lol: Maybe a couple of games as Julius Caesar will help. He seems to be the go-to guy when you're having trouble with the game.
     

Share This Page