1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Anno Domini Gods and Kings

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Modpacks' started by Rob (R8XFT), Feb 20, 2013.

  1. Keinpferd

    Keinpferd King

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    611
    Location:
    Berlin
    Does anybody know, whether the author of the map pack on Steam, called "Patrick" there, is registered on the CFC forum, too?

    I'd like to ask him to upload his maps here (or at Mediafire or a similar site), so people (like me), who don't use Steam, can download them.
     
  2. tromozil

    tromozil Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    32
    Hello,

    I am trying to play this mod with the appropriate DLCs and Gods and Kings expansion, but the text is totaly messed up. All civs, that are not part of any DLC or vanilla get missing text tags (like city names) and names and descriptions for wonders are missing as well.

    When I try to load a scenario, then just few civs appear to be chosen from.

    Maybe it has something to do with some game updates? If anyone has solution, please share. Is there some patch?
     
  3. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,867
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    Is it possible that you either are missing some DLC or you're trying to use the mod in conjunction with another mod?
     
  4. tromozil

    tromozil Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    32
    No. I have all DLCs (I think 7 alltoghether) and Gods&Kings (BNW is disabled). I have only Anno Domini v4 and Anno Domini v8 maps.

    If you wish I can send you my Database.log file. It is full with entries like this:
    [4111.125] Invalid Reference on Buildings.Quote - "TXT_KEY_WONDER_ATREUS_QUOTE" does not exist in Language_en_US
     
  5. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,867
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    Then I'm sorry, not sure what has happened there - although the maps were not done by me and others have reported problems when they used some of the map packs. Try using Anno Domini G&K on it's own and see what happens.
     
  6. tromozil

    tromozil Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    32

    I just loaded only the Anno Domini mod without the maps and started game with Garamantes on random map and the first city I founded is "TXT_KEY_CITY_NAME_GARAMA". Do you play the game with the latest updades? Any idea? It seems like a really good mod, it would be a shame if I don't get it to work properly.

    EDIT: I don't know if it has anything to do with the issue, but on loading a save game, I click on DLC and it lists all DLCs + one called Upgrade Data 1
     
  7. FramedArchitect

    FramedArchitect Reluctant Modder

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Messages:
    798
    Location:
    Missouri
    The way that text keys are inherited from past expansions and DLC can wreck a mods' text strings, especially if the mod is not very exact in its' Requires and Blocks. Thankfully this was sorted out very nicely by Firaxis with the "Block all other DLC" option in fall patch.

    Note that you may have to create duplicate text keys in your own mods to "fill the gap" left by unloading some dlc. For example, if you unload all DLC except the Expansions you can still place Potosi Wonder, but the description string is missing. Better yet, just create a new text key for that type, and update the description field in the database.
     
  8. tromozil

    tromozil Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    32
    Thank you for the info and congrats for your great mod Faerun!! I am afraid however, I don't understand very much. I have only BNW disabled and all DLCs are loaded. The "standard" civs / techs / wonders work fine, except those in the mod text files. For example the wonders in "WondersText.xml" don't show right text, or the city names of the new civs. Is there a way to correct the text in the mod, so that it works fine?
     
  9. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,867
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    Sorry I can't help further with the technicalities at the moment.

    On a (slightly) more positive note, whilst my illness is still there, I am seeing a specialist on Dec 23rd who may well have the answer to sorting things out. If that were the case, I would (potentially) feel well enough to start converting Anno Domini to a full BNW mod. Sorry it can't be any sooner, but this long-term illness has put the brakes on things for now.
     
  10. tromozil

    tromozil Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    32
    I am sorry for your health problem, Rob. I wish you to get well soon!
     
  11. tromozil

    tromozil Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    32
    I have done some search abouth the issues. Here are the problem I identify:

    1. Some civilization don't get proper city names.

    With the help of this program - "Duplicates Finder" I found few entries that appear both in ...\MODS\Anno Domini (Gods and Kings) (v 4)\XML\GameInfo\CityNames.xml and in ...Assets\DLC\Expansion2\Gameplay\XML\Text\en_US\CIV5GameTextInfos_Cities_Expansion2.xml I deleted the entries from the first file and now all civilizations have proper names:)
    Problem resolved!!

    2. Some city states don't get proper leaders - when you open the communication window, you get error message that some .dds file is missing.

    Open file ...\MODS\Anno Domini (Gods and Kings) (v 4)\XML\GameInfo\MinorCivLeaders.sql and delete all line with .dds files, that are not in the folder ...\MODS\Anno Domini (Gods and Kings) (v 4)\Art\CityStateLeaders\
    Problem resolved!!

    3. Many wonders don't get proper text (names, descriptions, pedia entries..)

    It seems there is some duplication of entries for the Parthenon wonder. Just rename all text keys for that wonder like that ..._PARTHENON... to ..._PARTHENONMOD... (for example) in the following files: Buildings.xml, WondersText.xml, BuildingClass.xml.
    Problem resolved!!

    4. Many city states don't get proper city names
    I searched for duplicates, but could not find any. If someone could help here, it will be greatly appreciated!!
    Problem not resolved, yet :(

    On sidenote: How to remove Christianity and Islaam?
     
  12. FramedArchitect

    FramedArchitect Reluctant Modder

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Messages:
    798
    Location:
    Missouri
    Get well soon, Rob.

    Are there any modders willing to take over maintenance of your mods until you've regained your health?
     
  13. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,867
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    I would rather them not do so - Anno Domini is very much my project.
     
  14. Breez

    Breez King

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    924
    Hey Rob

    Was just checking for any updates and saw you have not posted lately. Hope all is well.
     
  15. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,867
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    Thanks Breez; hopefully will be better by the end of March and have already started on some updates for BNW version; more to be revealed in about a month or so :).
     
  16. Cerilis

    Cerilis Not Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2,924
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Germany
    Any news here?
     
  17. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,867
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
  18. Cerilis

    Cerilis Not Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2,924
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Germany
    Aw, thanks. I only bookmarked this thread and didn't think of checking the mod-subforum once in a while. :blush:
     
  19. jimkirk

    jimkirk Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    528
    Location:
    brooklyn, n.y.
    any idea why I am crashing just as the mod is loading
     
  20. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,867
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    Nice to have one of the Civ III Anno Domini faithful on here! The mod is a G&K mod - do you have BNW enabled, as if you do, it'll crash. You need to have all the DLC up-to-and-including G&K, but nothing afterwards. Oh, and it's not necessarily compatible with other mods either.
     

Share This Page