1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Anno Domini: Rise of Cities edition (latest version dated November 9th 2016) 27

Play the ancient world

  1. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,867
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    Swatted that bug! Another hangover from moving the civs out of the base game. I'm going over it now with a fine toothcomb.

    I've a couple more decisions to write, then check that they're in the game. Following that it's taking about 45 mins - an hour to upload, so I expect it to be ready at about 6.30pm UK time.
     
  2. Lord Smiley

    Lord Smiley Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    London
    That's really cool Rob. Excellent. I will launch a new game this evening if I get a chance.

    What are do like in v20 are all the new artwork features for Adventurers and Writers etc. I think they are great and add more flavour to the ancient world-ness of the game. I also liked the new wonder you added in the first tech, the Lascaux Grottos. Cave painting is indeed one of Mankind's first wonders which we often over look. Nice touch!

    It's a great mod and it feels as if we are getting near to total completion soon!
     
  3. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,867
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    Thanks so much for the positive feedback!! I've just started uploading v21, which should be available shortly. Please see the details below of the changes. What's left to do is to make it so that the Great Writers all fit in the Anno Domini period, update the website and add even more civilizations, whilst fixing any bugs people find. I'll be doing the Great Writers tomorrow along with some updates to the website for a change of pace.

    Here's the V21 updates:

    New Civilizations
    • Caledonii
    • Catalhoyuk
    • Dacia
    • Denmark
    • Illyria
    • Japan
    • Nuraghians

    Updates
    • Ships from the galley onwards require prime timber, but city-states have access to a version of each ship that doesn't require prime timber
    • A new event has been added
    • More icons updated

    Fixes
    • Corrected Rome's UA
    • Corrected issue with Cleopatra's icons
    • Skirmishers and Heavy Horse archers are now UNITCOMBAT_ARCHER
    • The galley, at last, is buildable!
    • Carthage issues (including lack of shellfish) corrected
    • Galea unit issues fixed
    • Akkad diplomacy text fixed

    Catalhoyuk has been made human player only for now. Whenever they played as the AI, the popups for the hunter-gatherer still appeared; I'm not sure why. If anyone can look into this for me please, I'd be really grateful. It's bound to be down to my lack of copying it across properly!

    I guess you'll have noticed Japan in the mix!! It was my original intention to have the Yamato in Anno Domini, but I found that I had the Diamyo Great General unit from JFD and JanBoruta's Meiji Japan and, of course, the Samurai unit. I've made the leader Emperor Daigo, who fits into Anno Obscuri quite nicely and gives me an opportunity to use Danrell's Japanese units - look out for those in particular in the last two eras! I have used Oda's leaderhead, which is of course a little too early, but it was available!

    Have fun playing v21 and please feed back! I hope to have v22 ready within the next week (as I still have a few days left of my holidays).
     
  4. Lord Smiley

    Lord Smiley Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    London
    So far so good. It early days in the new game so not much to report. Two quick questions - are the Etruscans going to make an appearance in a future version? I might have seen the Etruscans as a playable Civ that someone had modded on Steam Workshop or here on Civfanatics but then that might be a phoney memory. Do they feature in your plans?

    And why did you pick Julius Caesar over vanilla Augustus? Not that I mind but I'm just curious.

    I'm done with Christmas TV for the night so I'm going to get cracking into the game. If I spot any peculiarities I'll post them on here.

    Cheers
     
  5. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,867
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    I do have my own version of the Etruscans, who will return soon. They were almost put into v21, but time was against me. I chose Julius just to be different! There was a mod of him on here for a short time and IIRC, someone asked me to put him in over Augustus and it made no difference to me.

    Incidentally, I've made a start on v22 and the first thing I've done is to add an extra ship - the hemiolia - with Optics. It struck me that there was a long period between the curragh and the galley, so the hemiolia appears at a midway point between the two, with 10 strength, does not require prime timber and doesn't have the sight handicap the curragh has. The galley goes up a strength point at 13. There's been an extra naval unit model appear from deliverator, so part of the reason for the change was to use that as well.
     
  6. Lord Yanaek

    Lord Yanaek Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,497
    Just had a look at the Lua files for the Catalhoyuk civ but i don't really know what to look for. It the popup you are speaking part of their UA?

    Noticed something thought, you have multiple instances of the same Lua utilities at various places, probably because of the way you have been integrating civilizations created by various moders. I noticed this with NewSaveUtils being present in the main mod and the Catalhoyuk civ. However, they are different version of the same file (main mod file is 52 lines while Catalhoyuk is 30 lines).

    I'm not sure how the game's virtual file system will handle those. Probably loading one from the civs pack after loading the main mod will overwrite the more complete one from the main mod. This might cause unexpected behavior. I think it would be safer to centralize the utilities in the main mod so you have only one version you can rely on.
     
  7. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,867
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    Thanks for looking into that. I was looking at the Civ's thread and it seems that it's a known "issue" with the civilization. AW, creator of the civ, said that he saw that as normal as all civs would have hunter-gatherers - but I wasn't happy with having to click on pop-ups for this civ when I'm playing another one. Therefore, it stays in the mod as a human-player civ only. Which makes me feel much better about introducing Scipio Africanus' Rome in the mix. They're a very involved civilization by LeeS - a specialist civilization which some players will thoroughly enjoy playing in an Anno Domini setting, but it's "too complex for the AI".

    Incidentally, here's a leader screen for Scipio that I knocked up this morning - basically a cut-and-paste version of Civ IV's Augustus:

    Spoiler :


    If I get the Great Writers sorted out and a few other civs added by New Year's eve, I might just upload a new version....to Steam. Is it ready for that do you think?
     
  8. Lord Yanaek

    Lord Yanaek Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,497
    Nothing wrong with player only civilizations. I think Firaxis should have done it this way with Venice in unmodded CiV because they change the expansion phase dynamic a lot and AI tends to be bad with them. You have enough options for AIs anyway It's better to have AI civs that the AI can play then total losers, but it would be sad to loose really unique Civs because the AI can't play them.
    Depends.
    Are you ready to deal with some "useful" comments from the steam community? Being blamed for your mod disappearing after Steam Workshop bugged out. Getting flames from people who tried to use AD with other mods and found it not working.

    As long as there is a non-steam download i'm happy (i don't consider SteamDownloader stable enough to be seen as an alternative to proper hosting).

    EDIT : Speaking of mods. If you ever have time to look into EUI compatibility, i think several players would be really happy. It feels such a step backwards to drop back to the basic CiV interface. The "worst part" of your mod is probably Firaxis own UI
    I know JFD managed to get his mods compatible with EUI by providing some override files that the user must copy to the base mod folder so it's possible. Of course it's more work and i would understand you don't want to spend more time than required, i'm merely posted this in case you never considered it possible. You don't change the UI a lot yourself so it should be possible.
    EUI is purely an interface mod and changes nothing to the game itself.
     
  9. tsf4

    tsf4 Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    165
    Hey Rob - when do you think you'll get all the civs back into the game? All 100ish that were in the version before you started to go with the "civ packs" design.
     
  10. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,867
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    Sorry that there's only 80 or so in the mod at the moment ;). I'm doing my best to add them all, not sure of the timescales. Whatever I've done by the end of this week will be it for now I think.

    The thing is, I'm adding two decisions per civ and in some cases having to remember how I originally put the civ in - sounds daft, but when you added some lua about three years ago, you have to really think about how the effects were created!
     
  11. Plumfairy

    Plumfairy Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Does opening the Liberty policy tree actually unlock a Wonder? The in-game text says that it allows the building of a special kind of rice terrace, but I can't find the rice terrace anywhere on the tech tree or in the civilopedia.
     
  12. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,867
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    Thanks for pointing that out! It previously allowed the rice terraces, but of course, it wasn't in theme with the ancient med and was taken out (though the icon reused for the irrigation tech - waste not want not!) The wonder linked is the Pyramids. I'll amend the text now.

    Incidentally, have you noticed that the various civs have their own music (or re-use someone else's)? It was a request of yours some time back and I've made that happen.

    EDIT: I got mixed up there - the Pyramids is available with Health, not Liberty. I've now attached the Great Granary to the Liberty tree.
     
  13. Plumfairy

    Plumfairy Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    I think you have me mixed up with someone else... I play with the music turned off, so I wouldn't notice if the different civs have different musical motifs.

    Hmm... it seems like those Wonders should be reversed: Liberty should unlock the Pyramids, since a rapidly sprawling empire would need those workers. And the Great Granary fits thematically with the Health tree.

    Alternately, if you have a strong preference that Health unlocks the Pyramids, maybe Liberty should unlock Dur-Sharrukin rather than the Great Granary? The ability to transfer production would help Liberty when it expands & founds new cities.

    BTW, I'd like to echo what everybody else has been saying: Great work!
     
  14. thenoobler

    thenoobler Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Hi there, does this mod also add upgrades for units as well as they gain experience? As in adding extra promotions?
     
  15. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,867
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    Apologies, my mistake!

    Good point! I'll swap the Great Granary and the Pyramids.

    Welcome to Civfanatics! There are promotions as per the base game, along with Anno Domini-specific ones. So, to answer your question, the units would encounter new promotions as they gained experience as per the base game.
     
  16. Unedjis

    Unedjis Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    148
    There are a bunch of new ones available to all units ever since you added the Mercenaries mod to yours (I think - they're in v18). They're all pretty strong but I like them - except for Levitate, which turns any unit into a stronger Scout.
     
  17. gilliebillie

    gilliebillie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    i just downloaded v21 and i seem to have problems starting up a game. when i want to select wich civ i want to be the menu disappears. is this a mod conflict or did i install it wrong? i only have some custom maps installed and a custom piece of art. but those mods didn't seem to conflict on privious versions. however, i can still start a game if i go to advanced options.


    edit: nevermind, it was a conflict with the custom art piece
     
  18. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,867
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    The promotions were a separate file to the Mercenaries, but added around the same time. Thanks for the feedback about Levitate; I'll delete that one.

    In other news, I plan to upload a new version tonight (it's only early morning here today). The improvements include the added hemiolia ship at Optics, bridging that unit gap, great writers only being from the era covered by the mod (though many of the new additions are sayings by various authors rather than works, but I think that's okay - it was easier to add as I found a page with sayings from around 40 different ancient historians!) I am still working on this; I deleted the works that weren't from that era only to discover that I need to delete the corresponding authors as well, so that will be fun this morning ;). I've added six new civilizations already, including LeeS's Rome under Scipio, which gives an entirely different way of playing. See his thread here; it's an involved civilization which will be only available to human players. The others added so far are the Suebi, Franks, Etruscans, Tang and Tibet; more should be added today. The current tally is 85 civilizations in the mod and I'm aiming for 90 by tonight.
     
  19. Plumfairy

    Plumfairy Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Bug report:

    While playing the Byzantines (the kind that get +1 belief, not the brand new version of the civ), I got an event titled "Deceased Great Writer", or "Great Writer has died", or something along those lines. But there wasn't any accompanying text (i.e. the box where the description usually is was blank). Similarly, there wasn't a "Proceed" button, so the game wasn't able to get past the event.

    (I was able to sorta fix the problem by reloading one turn earlier and getting a different event next time.)
     
  20. jattmackson

    jattmackson Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Hey there, really enjoying your mod. If you have a look at this picture of this city-state, it seems they are a little confused about their settlers. They aren't the only one, was wondering if this is a bug.

    EDIT: including the link

    Spoiler :
     

Share This Page