another scenario problem

chieflookout

Chieftain
I downloaded the Moria scenario from here on civfanatics, and have been having trouble with it. I could find no way to contact the creator, favored flight, so I thought I would post here and see if anyone could answer this here.
When I started playing the Moria scenario, there were dead bodies laying around, and the readme stated that there were clues on them. I approached one, and it talked to me in the diplomacy screen. It was another race in the game, and asked me for the secrets of bronze working. I understand this is a rewrite of the civ game and had no problem with that, I just don't wanna leave anything out. I refused, and then it attacked my main character, Gandalf, and killed him quickly. The other units in my party could only move one space apiece, which seemed contrary to the readme, and so it seemed I had made a mistake. Then I was informed that my "city," which was disguised as the front door, had run out of food, and famine was feared. I tried to go into the city screen, but there was no way to even break even with food production. Then, when my turn was over, I was informed that my city had been captured by barbarians, and although my units were NONE, since the only city I had was that door, I immediately lost. I tried again, made peace with the dead bodies, and tried moving some nuclear missile units, disguised as boulders, into the city, trying to fortify it against barbarians. No luck. Once again, at the end of my turn, the city fell to barbarians.
This isn't a gripe. I sincerely like the idea of the Moria scenario, and would like to play it. I am using Civ II Multiplayer Gold, with the latest patch, and was wondering if I did something wrong. Is there an easy fix to this problem? Is there a version conflict? Is the scenario unfinished, or is it just flawed? Maybe the creator has a patch somewhere that fixes it. I was just wondering if anyone knew anything about it. Thanks for reading all this.

Hi!