1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Any rumours on when a new patch might come out?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by bennos76, Sep 14, 2006.

  1. bennos76

    bennos76 Grand Poobah

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Sydney
    Any at all?
     
  2. bitplayer

    bitplayer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    259
    I heard tomorrow.
     
  3. bennos76

    bennos76 Grand Poobah

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Sydney
    now that's just being cruel.
     
  4. bitplayer

    bitplayer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    259
    Sorry but Im a monti fan. Couldnt help it.
     
  5. CivDude86

    CivDude86 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    862
    Be nice if they could throw us a quick beta patch to fix the taking a vassel the same turn they declare war (something like that) and the no boats in China Uni scenario but other that I've haven't encountered any bugs.
     
  6. weasel77066

    weasel77066 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    488
    Location:
    houston tx
    Havent heard any... Why don't we start one?
     
  7. Mad2rix

    Mad2rix Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    Japan
    We should sign a petition to make a new patch
     
  8. DarkSchneider

    DarkSchneider Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    739
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    I've seen plenty of boats in the Chinese unification scenario. The only thing I would really like to see in the patch is something to allow you to drop Vassals that you aquired during wartime. All other issues were there before Warlords so they don't need to be fixed for Warlords specifically.
     
  9. bennos76

    bennos76 Grand Poobah

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yep, the vassals issues seem to be the ones causing the most dissent. A very good idea but needs an implementation fix seems to be the general consensus.
     
  10. alexman

    alexman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    778
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Not before mid-October.
    We would have liked to release it earlier (it's ready), but there are scheduling conflicts with our QA.

    By the way, vassal state bugs will be fixed, but do not expect major implementation changes like being able to drop your vassal state. That's working as designed, and changing it would cause other, more serious, balance issues.
     
  11. Artosoft

    Artosoft Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    402
    They should release a patch and add more leader on it ;-).

    Regards,
    Arto.
     
  12. bennos76

    bennos76 Grand Poobah

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Sydney

    Well, I'm glad I started this thread now. Thanks Alexman, now we not only have a rumour, we also have a confirmation!

    As for vassal states, sounds like just what the doctor ordered.
     
  13. Severus

    Severus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    119
    Does this mean if you're at war and they decide to become the vassel of another civ you have the option of ending the war and arent immediately at war with the new master?
     
  14. alexman

    alexman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    778
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    No, but now the new master will only accept the vassal if he also wants to declare war on you.
     
  15. Severus

    Severus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    119
    That makes sense. Thanks for the quick reply and keep up the good work.
    Cheers,
    Severus.
     
  16. Mad2rix

    Mad2rix Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    Japan
    Another thing I like to add is that I hope the producers will somehow find a way to increase speed or frame rate while playing the game.

    My old PC: (Used for home) Dell Dimension 8300 - Pentium 4HT 3 GHZ, 1.25GB DDR SDRAM, Geforce 5200 FX 128MB, WinXP SP2 - Seemed to run okay on vanilla version, however on Warlords, it runs even worse and quite sluggish as usual.

    My new PC: (Used for College) HP Pavilion a1540n - AMD X2 64 4200+, 2 GB DDR2 SDRAM, Geforce 6150 LE 256MB- Runs at normal smooth rate, even on Warlords.
     
  17. bennos76

    bennos76 Grand Poobah

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Sydney
    I wouldn't count on it. I'm guessing they've already spent considerable time optimizing the code as best they can. A patch is more likely to address bugs than performance issues.
     
  18. vilemerchant

    vilemerchant Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    Australia
    Can we fix medieval times so that 12 trebuchet can't easily take over the most powerful civ in the game like i just did on monarch :(. My other units never did a thing except absorb the occasional solitary catapult or horse archer. Trebs have neutured the most interesting period of warfare, (knights,pikes,maces,crossbows,cats,longbows) down to only one offensive unit that can't lose once it takes the first city or two and gets upgraded.

    BTW, the Ottomans were off the chart in power and never even fought back apart from the occasional stray catapult or horsearcher. Is Mehmed broken?
     
  19. Charles 22

    Charles 22 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    944
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    Will they do anything to make Warlords as playable as vanilla in the late game? Those two games play completely differently on my computer in that stage of the game. It's as though the vanilla fix wasn't applied to Warlords, or if it was wasn't done to the same degree.
     
  20. bennos76

    bennos76 Grand Poobah

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Sydney

Share This Page