1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Any way to turn off espionage/spies?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Bakaroyna, Mar 13, 2009.

  1. Bakaroyna

    Bakaroyna Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Hi,

    I'm kind of a newbie at 'modifying' the game as I usually just play standard games. Lately I've started getting annoyed with enemy spies, as they constantly destroy improvements around my cities (my computer really is too slow to handle this game on a big map with many civs, and therefore the message about the destroyed improvement doesn't always show it seems). This gets real tiresome, as I feel i have to check around the map to see if all my resources are still connected every turn.

    I haven't seen any way to do this in custom games, is it possible to do it thorugh xml or something?

    And I know I could go back to playing Vanilla Civ4, but I really like BtS. Except for the annoying spies :)
     
  2. Murky

    Murky Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    7,216
    Location:
    The Milky Way Galaxy
    When you customize the setup of your game, there is a No Espionage check box.
     
  3. nbcman

    nbcman King

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    896
    When starting a 'Custom Game' select the 'No Espionage' option in BTS.

    edit: xpost with Murky.
     
  4. Bakaroyna

    Bakaroyna Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Wow, can't believe I missed that!

    Thanks guys :)
     
  5. Bakaroyna

    Bakaroyna Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Seems I got a little ahead of myself.. Do you guys mean the place where you can choose 'One city challenge' and 'No random events' etc? Because there isn't a 'No espionage' option there as far as I can see :(
     
  6. blitzkrieg1980

    blitzkrieg1980 Octobrist

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    4,899
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    You need to be fully patched to 3.17 in order for that option to appear in the custom games settings. You need the 3.17 patch.
     
  7. mechaerik

    mechaerik Tuturuu!

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,064
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Still, selecting no espionage breaks culture; all espionage is converted to culture, and i hear that researching Communism still gives you a great spy.

    Besides, i like espionage.
     
  8. blitzkrieg1980

    blitzkrieg1980 Octobrist

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    4,899
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Me too. In my last game, I took some time out of research to fund a lot of EP and focussed it on my tech racing neighbor. I then spammed spies and used them to pillage all the towns in her bureaucracy running civ ;)

    That was crippling. Killed my Friendly relations though ;)
     

Share This Page