Anybody playing with CS turned off?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by AxelRhodd, Apr 12, 2011.

1. AxelRhodd

AxelRhodd Warlord

Hey.
    Recently I started playing with city states set to none. I normally play on tiny or small maps so lack of city states allows me to include 2-3 extra civs into my games without causing too much congestion on the map.

So my observations:
    - I dont miss city states at all - sure this makes bunch of SP and diplo victory obsolete but this does not affect my style of play
    - I actually have more fun now - CS are little more that giant expensive farms or monuments and an unecessary detraction from the core game

Please share your experiences and opinions on CS free gameplay.
    Also, do you ppl think city states as they are now are OK or could their role/function be improved?

Cheers

2. Zyxpsilon

Zyxpsilon Running Spider

All depends on which Victory Condition(s) i plan for...
    goes like this;
    1- No Ruins
    2- No Barbarians
    3- Timer Meter
    4- Disable Start Bias
    5- No CS
    6- 1 CS per majors + ONE more
    7- Or anything else if i *feel* like it.
    8- Whatever other mods i intend to test for LeoPaRd.
    9- Back to Modding.
    10- Loop back to #1 as often as necessary or until stopped on my tracks by CFC forums for some little or much "activities".

I'd multiply them if i could.

3. dexters

dexters Gods & Emperors Supporter

The AI has run a couple of close games by doing an end run around CS. Alexander is always a threat, but I've seen Bismarck with with a diplomatic victory 10 votes to my 9. Both cases were continents games (my preferred set-up) and the AI was on the other continent.

I think removing it will make the game a lot easier, especially continents games where the AI on the other continent can develop unmolested for a longer period of time.