Anyone ever hit large veins of ore?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Strategy & Tips' started by Cabledawg, Sep 25, 2008.

  1. Cabledawg

    Cabledawg King

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    601
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    popped copper twice on my capitol....its got crazy production. Anyone else hit something like this?

     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sian

    Sian Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,676
    tried popping a Gem and Silver in my capital once ... it allready had 2 gold mines :p
     
  3. Leventis

    Leventis Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    262
    Never seen three coppers that close together. Did you move your starting settler? Because that's even more bizarre if you settled in place and that happened. 9 resources in BFC lol.
     
  4. Cabledawg

    Cabledawg King

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    601
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    This was an advanced start, so I picked the spot even though it gave up fresh water.
     
  5. Killroyan

    Killroyan Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,099
    Never got 3 sources of copper, madness. I like it. That is a sick capital :)

    Did however get a capital where copper popped and I got aluminium and uranium besides 5 resources already after discovering the revealing techs.
     
  6. Ultimocrat

    Ultimocrat Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    274
    While we're on the subject of capitals with 9 resources in the BFC, here's one I came across recently. 2 fish, 5 crabs, oil, and fur. Not exactly a production powerhouse, but one of the best potential GP farms I've ever seen.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. dubrown

    dubrown Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    438
    Location:
    Sweden
    I don't think I've ever popped that many copper in one city, but in marathon games I've gotten a ridiculous amount of gold and silver in one city. Every single mine (and it was originally a production city so it had quite some mines) popped a resource during the game. But well, I've only been that lucky once and since I went back to epic speed, a more moderate result in popping resources has been experienced.
     
  8. obsolete

    obsolete Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,201
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Something seems a bit wrong with that map.

    I thought it was impossible for the generator to give you a mountain TOUCHING your capital starting location.
     
  9. DaveMcW

    DaveMcW Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    6,489
    A lot of the new BTS maps have the "no mountain" rule turned off.
     
  10. Cabledawg

    Cabledawg King

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    601
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    Yea, it was one of those new maps. On this map, there wasnt any land based oil, it was all offshore.
     
  11. Snovvdog

    Snovvdog Warlord

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    199
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Advanced start, he picked his own starting location.


    He said he popped 2, so he started with one copper, the one on the flat land probably, and the 2 others popped by having a mine there... By building mines you get a chance to discover new resources...
     
  12. DMOC

    DMOC Mathematician

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5,594
    Even so there are some starts with moutains on maps like archipelago. :confused:
     
  13. ParadigmShifter

    ParadigmShifter Random Nonsense Generator

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,810
    Location:
    Liverpool, home of Everton FC
    Jackdaws love my big sphinx of quartz ;)
     
  14. Shadowcrow

    Shadowcrow Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Thats weird. I never seen a corn, adjacent to a wheat.
     
  15. Cabledawg

    Cabledawg King

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    601
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
  16. bestbrian

    bestbrian Just this guy, ya know?

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,344
    Location:
    NYC
    Current game as Augustus. Rome had 4 seafood resources, and on 7 hills (!) in the BFC: Iron, 2 Gold, and Stone at the start. Currently at 1760-something and I've popped 4 more Gold. Truly sick.
     

Share This Page