1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Anyone get Coup d'etat by AI yet?

Discussion in 'CivBE - General Discussions' started by s0nny80y, Oct 27, 2014.

  1. s0nny80y

    s0nny80y Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,082
    Location:
    Ohio
    Second game I was squeezed between Brazil and France as KP in eternal conflict...half way through the game while in a defensive posture, France flips Mandira, my capital city. This is on Gemini btw. So I decided to siege all her cities after taking back Mandira. I thought it was funny hehe
     
  2. Matthew.

    Matthew. Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,179
    Yes. My capital when I was a few turns from finishing transcendence. I honestly stared at my screen in astonishment for a minute or two straight.

    I think I should read up on how spies work ;)
     
  3. beyondmiasma

    beyondmiasma Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Kyogle, NSW AU
    Not fun, I was on turn 356 all was going well, when my main city out of 3, turned purple to that Daoming woman!
    WtH! Seemed unfair as I didn't have a clue this was going to happen. Spent 40 turns trying to retake my capital, only to lose heaps of units, eventually gave up.One day I am going to get alien seige worms to ride on and take my revenge!
     
  4. Mozzington

    Mozzington Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    England.
    This.....yesterday afternoon.... Followed by a rage quit.
     
  5. Drowsy Emperor

    Drowsy Emperor Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    The only thing you have to do is move a spy to your capital and that will never happen.
     
  6. AriochIV

    AriochIV Colonial Ninja

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5,958
    Location:
    Nehwon
    You don't even have to keep him there; one spy can bounce between your cities conducting counterintelligence. In three games, intrigue has never gone above level 2 in any of my cities.
     
  7. rune42

    rune42 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    A surveillance web in every city will allow you to completely ignore enemy spies.

    On that note, a surveillance web turns the spy game into nothing more than a way to boost energy/science. It really hampers creative use of spies. They need to change the Surveillance Web so that it only reduces intrigue of successful enemy spy ops by 20% or so (effectively delaying the time it takes for your cities to increase intrigue by 25%)
     
  8. Wulf38

    Wulf38 Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    I've had my capital stolen by an AI on the other side of the world, despite having a spy defending. Of course he had no units there, so I just immediately declared war and took it back.

    I'm kind of amazed that they made capital cities a valid target for coups. I wonder if you could win a domination victory just through covert ops.
     
  9. Civking5

    Civking5 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    393
    It happened to my capital too... I almost rage quitted... Then I figured probably I can avoid it by a spy.. So reloaded a save 1 turn earlier and sent a spy...it worked! So have a spy moving around into your cities.
     
  10. aguliondew

    aguliondew Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    447
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I stopped reloading because it make you have the prefect game. That tend to be uneventful. That is why no matter what happen I do not reload unless I am about to lose. Like my last game on Apollo, I was on a peninsula (continent map) with limited space. All neighbors civ declared war on me because I killed a lot of wildlife and ignored their cries to stop expedition near them. It was strange since only 2 of the 4 civ were on my continent.

    It set me back but I continued until I wiped the southern civ. During the entire game my capital intrigue was always increasing by 2 meaning everyone was doing stuff their. It got upto 5 intrigue but only lost it to the other civ massive army to the north when my army was half dead to the south. Took my capital and everything else :p. It was an interesting game. Would have been salvageable if the northern civ did not declare war on me.
     
  11. qwerty25

    qwerty25 Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    399
    To stop cpu's from coup-ing your city, just check the covert of all of your cities every once in a while. (well usually when you just got some energy and beakers from enemy civs) If any of your own cities are in the 3-4 intrigue stage you better place a spy to defend it. especially, you're capital city.
     
  12. Civking5

    Civking5 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    393
    I usually don't use reloads either, but this coup happened in my 1st BE game, I even didn't know that such a mechanics exist, and you can loose your whole freaking capital due to actions of one agent!
     
  13. TheArsenal

    TheArsenal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    58
    Yes. My capital. And that was game over for me. I thought I had a spy stationed in the city, but perhaps not - I will have to go back and check the save. I usually don't quit over set backs, but this was such a fundamental oversight of major and powerful mechanic, that I had to.
     
  14. MithrilSoul

    MithrilSoul Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    You get a pop-up notice (along the right-hand edge of the screen) whenever the intrigue level of one of your cities is raised. So unless you are in the habit of ignoring those, or have turned them off in game settings, you really have no excuse. Coup d'tat is intrigue level 5 so you have 4 chances to notice something is amiss and send one of your own spies to the city to prevent it.

    You can also check intrigue level in every city any time you want in the covert ops screen.
     
  15. Wulf38

    Wulf38 Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    A spy alone is not enough to prevent it, it seems you need to get surveillance webs to really be safe.
     
  16. Eji1700

    Eji1700 Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    105
    This is the biggest issue with spying i've seen so far. We finally have legit offensive options, but it's way too easy to detect, and then block, counter operatives, to the point that the system basically only exists vs the incompetent AI. You shouldn't even know the intrigue level in your cities until you send a spy there and have them set up a network or something, and i'd love it if your opponent could then do ops to bluff it (either show higher or lower if their op works).

    Again...potential....
     

Share This Page