1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Anyone making Civ4 Units with Blender?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Creation & Customization' started by Bagdemagus, Apr 6, 2020.

  1. Bagdemagus

    Bagdemagus Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Any help would be incredibly welcome.

    I haven't played Civ 4 since 2015 and I love this game.

    In the past I made units using Nifscope,

    Is anyone still making units on Blender for this version (Civ4) and if so has anyone got any pointers?

    Better still has anyone got Blender with nif files already set up and imported they could send me please? I'm prepared to pay money for help or a Blender application ready to set up and use.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. MightyToad

    MightyToad Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    125
    http://niftools.sourceforge.net/wiki/Blender

    Go there. Under "installation" it has links to d/l the things you need, and the order to install them in.
    The only working version of blender that can import/export Civ4 nifs is Blender 2.49b. Which is what this is for.

    When you install this crap be sure to use the installer programs and not the zip files.

    This is complicated, but nothing compared to actually modding units for the game. You can handle this. :)
     
    Bagdemagus likes this.
  3. Bagdemagus

    Bagdemagus Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Thanks this is really helpful!
     
  4. SaibotLieh

    SaibotLieh Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,481
    There are quite a number of tutorials available in the "Modding Tutorials & Reference" forum that should be helpful for you, especially the ones from The_Coyote I'd say. If any, this thread is certainly worth a look:

    https://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/tut-nifscope.305606/
     
    Bagdemagus likes this.
  5. Bagdemagus

    Bagdemagus Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Aah thanks for this!
     
  6. Bagdemagus

    Bagdemagus Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Lincolnshire

    Hi sorry to bother you however I have followed the instructions and when I try to import a nif file it says console error? Any ideas?
     
  7. Bagdemagus

    Bagdemagus Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    I get this error message?

    Anyone please help?! No idea what is going on.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page