Anyone up for an Internet world

Otaku-sama

Warlord
I found this interesting and rather funny map on the Internet about...well...the Internet. Someone made a map about Internet culture as of 2010, with different websites scaled with their current popularity. Have a look:

http://xkcd.com/802_large/

Is it just me, or does anyone else see potential Civ map material here? Maybe even a new scenario, with Facebook, Twitter and Google as civs, competing for dominance over the internet.

I would try making it myself, but I have no modding experience nor the time to make a scenario nor the computer to efficiently make the scenario. If anyone could make this idea into something tangible, it would be great.

I like that map. Interesting idea, but I have no idea how it would be done in a way that's more than just renaming things and less than a total conversion.

I was thinking new civs for each major website, complete with UU and UB, maybe replacements for resources (like Insults instead of Iron or Data instead of Gold). What I really want to see happen though is leaderheads for each civ. Maybe Zuckerman for Facebook or Anonymous for the website that's apparently being censored by CivFanatics.

This idea makes me remember the old Civ 2 scenarios that portrayed abstract concepts such as a scenario that simulated imperialist economics or that one where you're various economic systems battling each other, included was the Soviet system of economics.

Well, since it's wars between forums, the nuke would be a DDoS attack because it really screws up websites. We could replace Warrior with Poster I, archer with Moderator I, Axeman with Poster II and Swordsman with Troll. Worker could be Ideas, because ideas improve a website.

Anyone capable of making this a reality though?

How about this:

The Poster unitcombat would be the most basic and cheapest.
Poster I (2 strength, no special effects), Poster II (3 Strength, 10% city defence), Poster III (5 Strength, 25% City Defense)