Appearance of leaders & rice artwork

AlanH11

Chieftain
I'm new to Civ6, and still discovering, but in an excellent game, one thing does bug me, and that's the cartoonish appearance of the leaders. This is particularly obvious on the initial load screen where about five of them are grouped together. If I didn't know better, I would assume I was about to play a Disney game designed for children.

Harsh? Or would anyone else prefer more lifelike characters?

One other minor thing: I can't fathom why the artwork for farmed rice consists of dark grey bands. In reality, rice fields are usually waterlogged, and the rice itself is a vibrant green. In other areas the colours are fine, so why dark grey rice fields?

I'm new to Civ6, and still discovering, but in an excellent game, one thing does bug me, and that's the cartoonish appearance of the leaders. This is particularly obvious on the initial load screen where about five of them are grouped together. If I didn't know better, I would assume I was about to play a Disney game designed for children.

Harsh? Or would anyone else prefer more lifelike characters?

One other minor thing: I can't fathom why the artwork for farmed rice consists of dark grey bands. In reality, rice fields are usually waterlogged, and the rice itself is a vibrant green. In other areas the colours are fine, so why dark grey rice fields?

I blame the art style and weak AI on PlayStation, Xbox, and most especially the Android/ Apple apps. I really believe the AI could have been (like GalCivIII's) much better if the publisher had allowed Firaxis to make the game for it's fans and not for a money grab this mediocre disappointment this franchise has become.

There was a lot of negative commentary when Civ VI first came out on the 'cartoonish' appearance of the game, the animations, the terrain, etc. Now everybody has gotten used to it, or claims they have, and of course there are some people that prefer it.