1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

April 2012 GOTM - Desert World

Discussion in 'Civ1 - Game of the Month' started by GibsonS, Apr 9, 2012.

  1. GibsonS

    GibsonS Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Londinium
    The thought was: "How would a game develop on a mostly desert world, with very view viable city-sites available?"

    In general:
    1. Most of the map is desert
    2. Water sources are scarce, and not necessarily adjacent to viable city-sites
    3. There are obvious city-sites available, some will take a lot of work to develop into successful cities.

    Expect fierce competition for good city sites if you play with 7 civilizations!
    (Not played it myself yet, but will be doing next weekend!)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. GoldBerg

    GoldBerg 1991 CivDosGamer

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    561
    Location:
    Palace Improvement
    ... ... ... pls. delete
     
  3. danheskett

    danheskett Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    This one is a real killer! I have tried 3 different ways - first, I pick the best site I could, but can't cities above the 5 or 6 level.

    On Emperor with 5, I keep getting taken out early in the game!

    Any tips?
     
  4. loopinaloop

    loopinaloop Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Poland
    I'll give it a try and report back in a week or two. Sounds interesting :)
     
  5. Theov

    Theov Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,921
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Whoop whoop!
    View attachment desert.bmp
    I'm highly confused.
    Where are ze Zermans?! (the germans should be on the map, but I can't find them.)
     
  6. loopinaloop

    loopinaloop Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Poland
    Maybe they are still looking around to found their first city? Man, this map is so cool! :) Whoever made it, it's very interesting indeed. Forget city spamming, you are happy when you have a handful of thriving cities! It's hard to secure your borders when you have no coastlines.

    The barbarians are hardcore! In the first game on this map I was looking for an unoccupied spot to found my civilization. That's right, I started in the middle of a desert! (a quote from a movie comes to mind, Fear&Loathing in Las Vegas) When I at last have found my city barbarians obliterated me!

    Now, in the second game I've founded the third city and... SIX barbarian legions appeared. NEVER, in this game I saw this amount of barbarians, except for the goody huts. But barbs from huts disappear quickly, but not this one. I've lost my city :(
     
  7. Theov

    Theov Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,921
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    This screenshot was not the end of the game. I defeated the Babylonians and haven't seen the Germans all game.
    I searched all map - I haven't seen them... weird.
    yeah the barbs are plenty. There are a lot of mountains too though...
    I played most game all-tax. Almost all techs up to railroad and democracy I got from 1 trade early on and the rest from huts.
     
  8. Dack

    Dack Terra Form Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    524
    Location:
    civ dos 474.05
    I went for diplomats, chariots and catapults. Then scoured the earth of the others.
    Theov I see your screen has Total Score mime has Bonus Score .
    I used 474.05 as King, seven opponents..


     

    Attached Files:

  9. loopinaloop

    loopinaloop Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Poland
    King? :huh: Afraid of the extra-class? King doesn't count. :p
     
  10. Theov

    Theov Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,921
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Chariots, diplomats and some knights - that's about all I used too.

    as you can see, I just switched to a democracy in my game... hence the unhappy people, because I was hunting down the Germans. They weren't anywhere to be found.
     
  11. GoldBerg

    GoldBerg 1991 CivDosGamer

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    561
    Location:
    Palace Improvement
    From 25 Years of Civ1 experience i can tell you:
    the AI isn't able to handle such a situation - so every rookie player is able to beat the AI even at King Level (if the scenario doesn't provide any connection to water) under such circumstances and will be able to irrigate a larger area, and the AI cities stay small.

    The AI wouldn't try 'to bridge' 2 squares of sand with irrigation
    (but i am still not 100% sure if the AI doesn't simply fake irrigation out of nowhere, if not connected to water).
     

Share This Page