1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Arab-Israeli mod development

Discussion in 'Civ4 - The Second Revolution' started by kbrennan7654, Apr 12, 2008.

  1. kbrennan7654

    kbrennan7654 Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    I need help creating this mod
     
  2. kbrennan7654

    kbrennan7654 Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    I'm making a mod to recreate various wars between arabian nations and Israel

    I plan to create scenarios based on the numerous wars(if u want to make one contact me)
     
  3. kbrennan7654

    kbrennan7654 Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    I also need a map specifically of Israel and the rest of the middle east (not including turkey,greece, persia)
     
  4. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    start off by playing with some of the Map editors for civ. try this: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=141622

    click on my profile in CFC and look at my artwork and select things you think are cool. then go to the download database and check there for artwork that catches your eye.

    check out the structure of mods that came with BtS just poke around and dont change anything. also check out the tutorial sections here at CFC theres alot of useful knowledge :)

    download "xml marker" and "Gimp" good programs :)
     
  5. kbrennan7654

    kbrennan7654 Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    where do i transfer Map editor to?
     
  6. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    we should move the discussion for this mod into here :)

    there are some good tutorials for adding units. first, go check out the xml and just try to change the rules for one of the units.

    you also have to create a mod folder to do this and copy any files to it (dont change the original civ4 or bts files as you will have to reinstall the game :( )
     
  7. kbrennan7654

    kbrennan7654 Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    lol sry, i try not to crowd ur thread :p
     
  8. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    thats cool bro

     
  9. kbrennan7654

    kbrennan7654 Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    same thing happened when i tried to install ur UN peacekeeper:( its like there is a typo in every unit info file
     
  10. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
  11. kbrennan7654

    kbrennan7654 Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    woohoo, i figured out how to open it and somewhat figured out XML so no i can help you a little with ur mod :lol::):p
     
  12. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    good move! keep it up and update me with your progress on learning modding :goodjob:
     
  13. kbrennan7654

    kbrennan7654 Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    :lol:
    lol looks like this mod won't happen for a WHILE
    i have many troubles trying to figure out how to get units on it even when i follow tutorials step by step:nothing seems to work
     
  14. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    dont worry. you need to also go and download a mod that has a similar scope of what you want to do, then look at what that modder did in his mod by opening all the files :)
     

Share This Page