1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

are automated settlers totally ******** in this game?

Discussion in 'Civ2 - General Discussions' started by Illusion13, Mar 27, 2004.

  1. Illusion13

    Illusion13 King

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    671
    Location:
    Burnaby, Canada
    Are they? Or, if they are nearly as effective as what they are in Civ 3, I might consider automating some... But, if I remember correctly, they dont even go clear up the freaken pollution when there is some....
     
  2. SVAndrei

    SVAndrei Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Arad, Romania, Europe
    You are absolutely right. The automated settlers in Civ II are totaly ********. I have a hard time controlling them. So don't use that option. It will just ruin your day!
     
  3. funxus

    funxus Orange Cycloptic Blob

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,390
    Location:
    Where you wish to be!
    I think cleaning up pollution is just about the only thing they do right.:)
     
  4. Prof. Garfield

    Prof. Garfield Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    3,417
    Location:
    Ontario
    You can try to get it to irigate far avay from water, but if it doesn't click on it straight away so you dont loose it, or find that it irrigated down all your forests...
     
  5. Achinz

    Achinz Hermit of Huangshan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2001
    Messages:
    2,232
    Location:
    World's most livable city
    After playing for a while you soon realise that all the functions are best done yourself although it definitely contributes to the tedium of micromanagement in the late game.
     
  6. Illusion13

    Illusion13 King

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    671
    Location:
    Burnaby, Canada
    the thing is... You cant just mass produce a bunch of settlers like you can do for workers in Civ 3 cause they require stupid upkeep....
     
  7. Archer 007

    Archer 007 Rebirth

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,687
    Location:
    The Empire State of the South
    I like to hand-control settlers. :D
     
  8. Ace

    Ace Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,345
    Location:
    Southern CA, USA
    That is the only way to go. In Civ2, automating settlers is totally wasteful. The only point to doing it is if you want to try to irrigate a hex that is not near water, and that does not always work. I cannot imagine the trouble a bunch of automated engineers could cause in the late game! Gems to grassland, coal to buffalo and all kinds of other mischief. Besides, one of the big attractions in building a really large civ, 150+ cities, is making each city reach a state of perfect balance. By that time, the ai will be reduced to one pet city and you are just trying to achieve the "perfect" civ...!
     
  9. The Person

    The Person Deity +2

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,712
    Location:
    Trondheim, Norway
    It's about time people stopped posting this. It's getting quite boring.
     
  10. Old n Slow

    Old n Slow Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    Vienna, VA, USA
    Maybe we need to try some experiments -- take a smallish island, drop off two transports of engineers, automate them all & see what happens. It would be interesting to see if a new town springs up. :lol:
     
  11. Prof. Garfield

    Prof. Garfield Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    3,417
    Location:
    Ontario
    A new town wont spring up. Auto settlers don't build cities. As for the reply to the question at the begining, YES.
     
  12. Carrot

    Carrot Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Sweden
    Actually, I did some testing. With cheat-mode I put two engineers on a small island and turned half of it into mountains. They roaded the entire available landmass before idling with 'no orders'. So I had my first settler build a city and put two engineers on a different island, only grasslands, and one of them immediately formed my second city while the other started roading an irrigating.

    But sometimes they just run around, apparently trying to go to your other cities. A pointless attempt given that they are on an isolated island. I have yet to find a pattern in their behaviour, but more testing may reveal preferred actions given terrain, other cities and distance to them.
     

Share This Page