1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Ashes of Erebus Known Issues and Bug Reports

Discussion in 'Rise from Erebus Modmod' started by black_imperator, Dec 22, 2017.

  1. black_imperator

    black_imperator Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,240
    Hi all, here is an thread with common problems with the current build of Ashes of Erebus, what i'm doing about them and how to report issues.

    First the usual Suspect :

    1)The "Python bug" :

    Symptoms : Events Recurring during the first few turns, no interface, no spells, map generation errors ,...

    What's actually happening : The game refuses to load python files in subfolders of the main python folder. (Why, i haven't a clue)

    Hypothesis : since only some people are affected, and apparently only people using the svn download, it seems there's something causing svn to mess up with files.

    What to do when you get it :
    First report it with those details : How did you download the mod, where did you install BTS on your computer ? do you have any third party software that could interact with those files in the background? what OS are you using ? What version of BTS are you using ?
    After that, try deleting the svn version and downloading the game from this link : https://sourceforge.net/p/ashesoferebus/code/HEAD/tarball
    IMPORTANT : If you are still experiencing the issue after the download instead of the svn, warn me quickly. My current work hypothesis is that it is svn-related, so i'd like to know quickly if it turns out to be false.


    2) General Instability ( Game Crashes) :

    What to do when you get it :
    Report it with a save game just before the crash and those details : what version of the mod are you using ? what modules are you using ? what is the name of your mod folder (Important for opening a save game) ? How to cause the crash ?


    3) Long turn time. I'll work soon on adding some log data for turn time. Once i have it set up, i'll update this part to explain how you can contribute. In the meantime, if you notice something specific that takes time,please report it. I'm also implementing some optimizations for the most recent mechanics that i hadn't thought of before (Some of them feeling painfully obvious now...).


    4) Anything else. Please provide as much details as possible


    TL;DR : Please now use this thread for bug reports, with as much details as possible
     
  2. PPQ_Purple

    PPQ_Purple Techpriest Engineer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,880
    Has anyone tried downloading the SVN files to a separate folder and than taking a copy and pasting that copy into the game folder? That would eliminate any meddling from the SVN software that might be interfering with the game.
     
  3. Nor'easter

    Nor'easter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,336
    I'm still using the SVN -- I'm in the middle of a game right now that I'm enjoying, but once that's done I'll delete and download the mod from the link you've posted.

    I've uploaded plenty of crash dump files previously, which I hope are useful.

    If it's helpful, this has been my experience with crashes:

    1) Often the game will crash when I'm trying to load an autosave.

    2) If I'm able to load an autosave, it frequently happens with python exceptions that lead to no spell interface, no diplomacy interface, or no interface at all. In those case I'll try to exit to the Main Menu and the game will crash.

    In both of the above cases I always select the "Debug" option. Sometimes one Debug is enough, sometimes I have to Debug several times, but usually at some point I end up being able to load a clean Autosave.


    3) Occasionally when I exit the game after it's Autosaved I'll get a crash.

    4) Very rarely do I experience a crash in game, and it's not always consistent or predictable. I had two crashes in my current game when I captured a city. Previously I had seen Python Exceptions on City Capture, but that was when an AI had captured a city and didn't result in a crash. And before this I don't recall experiencing a crash when I captured a city. Again, Debug, Reload, play, and it didn't crash.


    So I hope that's useful information. When I finish up (or quit) the game I'm currently in, then I'll delete the SVN and re-download from the link you gave so I can give you more up-to-date reports.
     
  4. Nor'easter

    Nor'easter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,336
    So still getting python exceptions after replacing the SVN with the Sourceforge download. As before, no consistent pattern: sometimes the mod loads fine, sometimes it crashes on loading (whether a new game or an autosave), sometimes it loads but with python exceptions resulting in no UI or no spell or diplomacy interface, and sometimes it loads with non-fatal python exceptions. Often when I exit to try to reload I'll get a crash and select the Debug option. Usually after one or more debugs I can load the mod (new game or autosave) successfully.

    I haven't noticed a pattern, but maybe there is one that I'm just not seeing.

    So going forward do you prefer that we go back to using the SVN to provide you feedback?
     
  5. black_imperator

    black_imperator Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,240
    Well, here goes my best theory.... yeah, you can switch back to the svn. I'm commiting a new revision tonight. No change on the python front but some speed improvement and bugfixes
     
  6. Nor'easter

    Nor'easter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,336
    One piece of info I can provide: I played a game of regular BtS using "Play Now." The next time I started a game of AoE I experienced no crash or python exceptions on starting the new game. (Eventually the python exceptions and crashes did happen, as I described above, and again, I couldn't discern a pattern.)
     
  7. black_imperator

    black_imperator Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,240
    they did happen during the same session or the next one ?
     
  8. Nor'easter

    Nor'easter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,336
    As I recall, they happened when I tried to load an autosave of the same game. It's possible that I"m not remembering accurately and that there were some non-fatal python exceptions (eg, the city-capture one) during the game that I started cleanly. Sorry for not keeping closer track, I just thought it might be significant that after a "Play Now" game of regular BtS I was able to start a game of AoE without any problems.
     
  9. Castaras

    Castaras Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Britain
    My game keeps crashing when I try to go to my next turn in this save.
    Windows 7 64 bit, Steam version of Civ IV Beyond the Sword, in a folder called Ashes of Erebus. Downloaded from the title post, loaded using the Ashes of Erebus shortcut, then going to load game.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Katrex

    Katrex Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    So I gotta say I love the amount of work youve put in to this and im amazed and really pleased this game is still being developed.

    My issue font errors and a lack of symbols. Eg i cant see happiness or health symbols, percentage signs and a hsot of other minor stuff which is surprisingly impacting.
     
  11. TheIanOakley

    TheIanOakley Bugged

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    Updated from 301 to 302.

    There's still a conflict between BannorChainOfCommand and Greatest People. Additionally, all the modules have Error While Checking Version - isn't affecting play far as I can tell, but worth mentioning.

    I disabled BannorChainOfCommand. Greatest People is still giving me a conflict -
    greatest people.png

    Fairly certain it shouldn't be conflicting with itself. Conflict remains even after removing BCOC altogether.

    Test start - no Python Exception dialog box spam.

    EDIT: I lie - there are Python Exceptions, such as here, where the diplomacy doesn't work:
    cvdiplomacy.png
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2018
  12. black_imperator

    black_imperator Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,240
    normally the conflict shouldn't be an actual problem. I've fixed the actual issue last commit. i'll see what i can do.

    yeah the diplomacy error is a known problem. I can give you a quickfix but it breaks multiplayer
     
  13. TheIanOakley

    TheIanOakley Bugged

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    I don't play multiplayer, so it's fine.
     
  14. TheIanOakley

    TheIanOakley Bugged

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    Trying to reload the save from yesterday, got two crashes during loading and one case of this (followed by another crash):
    pythob.png

    The crashes seem to occur either during Initialising or Setup Map - given that I've got 18 civs, I'm not too surprised about the latter, but the former is concerning.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2018
  15. TheIanOakley

    TheIanOakley Bugged

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    Game's crashing on end of Turn 272. I've got the 4GB patch installed, so it shouldn't be that. Any help?

    I rolled back another turn and then made it to Turn 276 before the same crash as before.

    Have decided to cut to the chase and am reinstalling the entire game.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 12, 2018
  16. Nor'easter

    Nor'easter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,336
    A couple more python exceptions.

    Screenshot (32).png Screenshot (33).png
     
  17. TheIanOakley

    TheIanOakley Bugged

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    Reinstalled the game, got hit with a UI bug that meant resource icons weren't showing up & text slightly too big, am reinstalling again.

    EDIT: Turned out I wasn't on Original Release.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2018
  18. Katrex

    Katrex Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    So I fixed that ui bug by playing in civ 4 original release problem is I then cant play multiplayer because game spy... Sucks
     
  19. TheIanOakley

    TheIanOakley Bugged

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    Reinstalled and ran headfirst into exception spam which went to a no-interface.
     
  20. Katrex

    Katrex Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    On a different note im getting a weird bug maybe with the elves... Which is massive negative relations penalty with other civs from past events have drawn our people apart... No idea where its coming from.
     

Share This Page