1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Ashes of Erebus Known Issues and Bug Reports

Discussion in 'Rise from Erebus Modmod' started by black_imperator, Dec 22, 2017.

  1. 5Echo2

    5Echo2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    hell
    i use firefox too oh my god. hnm
     
  2. fdrpi

    fdrpi Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    334
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Sorry if this is an old error but all the movies are silent, and I know they're supposed to have sound. I have the versions with sound (I think they're available as a supplemental download from classic FfH).
     
  3. Llewen

    Llewen Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    Messages:
    274
    Posted a while back that I was having issues playing on Linux with wine. I can now report that I have got it running better on Linux/wine than I had it running previously on Windows 10. This was the latest official release, I'm now going to try the latest SVN and see if that works as well.
     
  4. Llewen

    Llewen Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    Messages:
    274
    Unfortunately the SVN version CTD's when I end my first turn.
     
  5. mysterious_stalker

    mysterious_stalker Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2018
    Messages:
    69
    I can't load my saves anymore after a certain point. I'm playing on the 'stable' release... (16.11) Well, dang. I specifically picked it to avoid possible crashes & other errors.... looks like it didn't work.
    I'm able to load the earlier save, but not the later one, or any save after it (the game CTDs after the last stage of the map loading is complete and the black screen around the usual tip popup appears). I don't know whether it has anything to do with my setup, but it recurred in other games with the same settings and leader/civ. I've tried running both AoE and Civ4: BtS in Windows 7 compatibility mode, hoping that it would solve something for some reason, but it didn't.
    Any help would be appreciated.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Llewen

    Llewen Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    Messages:
    274
    If you are playing with the last "stable" release there are a few gotchas. The Mechanos civ is one of the worst ones. I would suggest you disable them in the options so that neither you nor the a.i. plays them.
     
    mysterious_stalker likes this.
  7. Nor'easter

    Nor'easter Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,505
    Is the Phoenix Blood promotion supposed to be unavailable to units with the Undead promotion? There would be a certain logic to that, I suppose, since they're already dead, so can't be resurrected if destroyed.

    The reason I ask is that I'm playing as the Scions, whose Racial is Undead. I completed Blood of the Phoenix and none of my units received the Phoenix Blood promotion.

    The 'pedia entry for the Undead Promotion lists which Promotions are blocked, but doesn't include Phoenix Blood, so it would be helpful to add that, if this is what's intended.

    Active modules are the following: Advanced Workers, Black Duke, Chislev Expansion, Dural, Dwarves, Emergent Leaders, Everchanging, Fortifications, Frozen, Hamstalfar, Lizard Art, MOM Bulidings, More Events, Noggormotha, PPQ Effects, PPQ Flavor, PPQ Navy, Scion Healthcare, and Werepyre.
     
  8. mysterious_stalker

    mysterious_stalker Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2018
    Messages:
    69
    Well, that worked. To fix the loading save issue, that is. I'm instead getting a different issue, which is a repeatable crash. Eh...
    Is the 'stable' release significantly more stable than the SVN? If so, do you know where I can find all the 'gotchas' so that I can have a nice, crash-free game?
     
  9. DolWerdd

    DolWerdd Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    [I have hit a bug in a game that I am currently playing: SVN 341, Dural, Ophelia with the default modules enabled. When I add units to certain Tacticians they gain a duckhead promotion (zzzzTestPromo) when in the Tactician's range which gives them +400 move, move through mountains, training benefits, etc. This promotion disappears if the unit is detached from the tactican or moves out of the tactician's range but reappears when you add the unit back to the tactician. It does not apply to all units attached to tacticians and did not start happening until c. turn 300.
    black_imperator, post: 15648493, member: 73027"]oh, that's an interesting one, i'm gonna need to look if it's the dural or something else.

    I have had the same effect in a new game with the Luichirp and Sheaim/Infernals. I thought that I could circumvent the problem by deleting the commander and creating a new one via Worldbuilder but when I went to add the Field Commander promotion to the new commander it pointed to zzzzTestPromo and not Leadership.
    I had completed the Luichirp game and went straight into the Sheaim/Infernal game without exiting AOE.
     
  10. DolWerdd

    DolWerdd Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Also a couple of screenshots of some unusual terrain effects that did not seem to have any detrimental effects on the game:
     

    Attached Files:

  11. DolWerdd

    DolWerdd Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Apologies for my post #489, I hit the wrong button when I was trying to quote an earlier post and somehow managed to "not" quote it :blush:

    I have not had the Duckhead promotion for a couple of months (everything has worked OK) but yesterday's occurrence does appear to be related to the Commander "Field Commander" promotion not pointing at the correct minion promotion.
     
  12. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,660
    The promo is not specifically blocked, it's just that the ritual doesn't grant it to non-alive units.
    I'll add it to the description.


    I'll look into that. Thanks for the bug-hunting
     
  13. Nor'easter

    Nor'easter Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,505
    So just have the 'pedia entry for Phoenix Blood say that it affects only living units? (Or something like that?)
     
  14. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,660
    yep, that's the plan.
     
  15. PPQ_Purple

    PPQ_Purple Techpriest Engineer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,650
    One question. I've been trying to overwrite svartalfar unit models but with no luck. It does not matter if I try UNIT_ARTSTYLE_ELF or UNIT_ARTSTYLE_SVARTALFAR the replacement model simply does not load and I get the default unit model instead. Any ideas what might be happening?

    I am trying to replace a knight.
    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0"?>
    <!-- edited with XMLSPY v2004 rel. 2 U (http://www.xmlspy.com) by Alex Mantzaris (Firaxis Games) -->
    <!-- Sid Meier's Civilization 4 -->
    <!-- Copyright Firaxis Games 2005 -->
    <!-- -->
    <!-- Civilization Infos -->
    <Civ4UnitArtStyleTypeInfos xmlns="x-schema:CIV4CivilizationsSchema.xml">
        <UnitArtStyleTypeInfos>
            <UnitArtStyleTypeInfo>      
                <Type>UNIT_ARTSTYLE_SVARTALFAR</Type>
                <StyleUnits>
                    <StyleUnit>
                        <UnitType>UNIT_KNIGHT</UnitType>
                        <UnitMeshGroup>
                            <EarlyArtDefineTag>ART_DEF_UNIT_KNIGHT_DARKELF</EarlyArtDefineTag>
                            <LateArtDefineTag>ART_DEF_UNIT_KNIGHT_DARKELF</LateArtDefineTag>
                            <MiddleArtDefineTag>ART_DEF_UNIT_KNIGHT_DARKELF</MiddleArtDefineTag>
                        </UnitMeshGroup>
                    </StyleUnit>
                </StyleUnits>
            </UnitArtStyleTypeInfo>
        </UnitArtStyleTypeInfos>
    </Civ4UnitArtStyleTypeInfos>
    I am working with the stable version btw.
     
  16. lfgr

    lfgr King

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    772
    I only checked vanilla FfH/MNAI, but the artstyle you need to edit is UNIT_ARTSTYLE_DARK_ELF. Svartalfar units get it from the dark elf promotion.
     
  17. PPQ_Purple

    PPQ_Purple Techpriest Engineer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,650
    Thanks. That worked. Now I can get on with working on new animations again.
     
  18. Mexaddon

    Mexaddon Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 13, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    I encountered a bug towards the end of my (successful) first run as the Bannor. I razed all of the cities in the world belonging to the Clan of Embers and to Hyborem to end my crusade once and for all. However, for whatever reason, these 2 still exist in the game. I went to conquer the Elohim since that was the only other civ in the world other than mine, and 1-2 turns after I end the turn where I wipe them off the map, the game crashes. I'm unable to finish this one playthrough due to this bug.

    I'll leave the savefiles attached, both the auto and the manual. You can replicate the crash simply by taking the last 2-3 cities the Elohim has, then passing 1-2 turns.

    P.D.: I'm sad I won't get my trophy for beating the game as the Bannor :(
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page