Ask a teacher

Truronian

Quite unfamiliar
Retired Moderator
Downtown opened an Ask a Teacher thread a few years ago, and now I've officially completed a few years in the profession I thought I'd open another to see if anyone had any burning questions.

I'm a secondary school teacher specializing in mathematics. I will also be teaching science starting in a couple months and have dabbled in a few other subjects such as citizenship, IT and history. Most of my teaching is with students preparing to take their GCSEs (13-16), though I also teach A-level (16-18) and KS3 (11-13) and have done some work with KS2 (9-11) pupils on transition and taster days.

The academy I work at is very small (roughly 500 pupils). Age range is 3-18 with a few mature students; not a typical British school by any means. I have also taught in some slightly more usual school set-ups of various sizes.

So... any questions?

Taster days?

Is it usual for schools in Britain to have nursery school aged children? (3-4) That is usually done in specialized private schools in the US where children only in that age range attend.

When the extrinsic motivation of getting good marks fails, what do you find is the best way to get kids to do their work?

Do you feel your work is more impeded by trouble students, or difficult colleagues?

Are you a scary teacher?

Do they allow you to use the paddle to whip those boys into shape?

What percentage of students are genuinely curious about the subject matter and do want to learn it?

Do you generally feel like your students take you seriously?

For the most part, yes. The only class I had last year that didn't were a split group that I had for 50 minutes every fortnight. Another teacher had them for most of the fortnight and the small amount of time that I saw them for wasn't enough to build up a rapport or to exert my authority. Consequently the lessons I had with them were always an absolute nightmare.

Taster days?