Ask an Economist #3

Status
Not open for further replies.

JerichoHill

Bedrock of Knowledge
*Primer : I'm sorry to CFC for starting the "Ask A ..." Phenomenon. However, we're about 2300 posts into this, so here's the third incarnation.

I do my best to answer everyone's questions in a neutral manner (which may be unlike how I state things elsewhere in OT)

My background, so you don't have to search, is that I have been employed by the US Federal Government as an Economist since 2003. I have worked in a regulatory capacity involving Anti-Trust Issues and on Civil Rights litigation, where I currently serve as a "in-house expert" on demographic and behavioral patterns of individuals.

I hold 3 degrees all in the field of Economics, and an undergraduate minor in Social Psychology. I got my first Master's at George Mason University, so I could be construed as an Austrian, though I feel more closely aligned with McCloskey and Ziliak. I'm somewhat obsessed about dollars and cents. My wife likes that about me.

I also serve as GetRichSlowly.Org's site administrator, forums administrator, and occasionally guest columnist. GRS is a highly renowned personal finance website and I am thrilled to be a part of it.

I'm currently taking on some additional Economic courses at George Washington University...its a short hop from my office. My current work is mainly on Voting and Election Behavior. As you can imagine, I'm pretty swamped right now.

Ask away. If I don't answer your question quickly, surely Whomp or Integral or someone else will be by.

Other than Bayesnian theory (which I only know a wee bit about), how many theories, roughly are there to account for subjective human behavior in economics?

Do the economicists ever get together with the pysch-social researchers to validate any of the theories on a small scale (say a cohort of 50 people)?

Do any of the theories scale up to large populations, experimentally?