1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Assorted U.N. Modding Questions

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Creation & Customization' started by mechaerik, Feb 2, 2009.

  1. mechaerik

    mechaerik Tuturuu!

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,064
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I'm making a mod and i need to know how to mod the UN. Where are the resolutions stored? If i change the category of civic, does it still work? I.e, if i make Free Speech a different Civic Option, will that resolution still work?
    And can i make it so that the UN bans a certain type of unit as well?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    31,097
    Location:
    Germany / Netherlands
    GameInfo\Civ4VoteInfo.xml.
    The civic-tags are named here, so if you change them to an other category, it'll still work.
    But don't forget to rename the text, it is not auto-generated.
     
  3. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    are you going to add python and sdk modding to it too? I really wanted a UN peacekeeper unit that could go into rival territory and prevent units from moving into its square.
     
  4. mechaerik

    mechaerik Tuturuu!

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,064
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Well, that takes care of my first question, but can i make it so the UN bans a unitclass from being made?
    Could it be done in python, or do i have to go to the SDK?
     
  5. DVS

    DVS El Presidente

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    Canada

    Great idea! I love it.

    It would be unreal to have units that could get mandates from UN votes. They could allow countries who have built the units (and/or who are on the UN security council, a modification we have discussed adding to the w2k9 mod), to do certain tasks, like the peacekeeping one you mentioned above. Entering a hostile country's territory without open borders or declaring war to clear out barbarians is another thing I had in mind.

    Also, global trade embargoes are something I thought civ4's UN was lacking.

    I'm going to start a thread in our forum about improvements to make to the UN, I hope you'll contribute your ideas.
     
  6. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    sounds cool. i think a lot could be done as quests. if two countries are at war secure area x, y, and z
     
  7. DVS

    DVS El Presidente

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    Canada

    Ok, I started the U.N. thread for the World 2009 mod. :)

    Since we're representing today's world, obviously the U.N. is key for us, and we would like to do the most we possibly can with it.

    Please share any ideas that come to you. We will do our best to get them included. :D

    Thanks for the ideas so far!
     
  8. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    31,097
    Location:
    Germany / Netherlands
    Can maybe be done in python.
    You have a CannotTrain-method, which prevents units from beeing build.
    But i don't know, how to check, if an un-resolution is active :(.

    What would be the function of this unit?
     
  9. DVS

    DVS El Presidente

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    Canada

    I can't speak for what Ekmek has in mind, but offhand I can think of a few things.

    Preventing the civ from:
    -moving units to its borders.
    -crossing a line of U.N. troops to move units out of their own borders.
    -developing the square, including routes.
    -utilizing forts located on the square.

    -for mods that include the JFortZoC mod (like the one I am working on :)), preventing the civ from attacking foreign forts that are inside its territory.
     
  10. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    similar to what DVS said. sometimes you don't want a civ to be wiped out.

    I like to play my modern areas similar to how the world is now. balance of power. limited wars etc.

    I've never been a fan of how Civ has treated the modern/last era. "You gotta wrap this thing up!" seems to be there approach to an era that could be a lot of fun.
     
  11. DVS

    DVS El Presidente

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    Canada
    That's exactly the area we are trying to expand on. We are only covering the modern era.

    If we can get the AI to use the peacekeeper units, we will certainly be including them. If not, we will have to get by with just expanding the capabilities of the votes.

    We're also in the process of developing a feature we're calling war escalation. This has a lot to do with what you are talking about; limited wars and so on.
     
  12. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    31,097
    Location:
    Germany / Netherlands
    But the UN-units would be real not balanced. One in every front-city, and no stack has a chance.
    Or am i missing something?

    Test the performance, if you can handle it.
    I've added it to my mod, but it decreased the performance dramatically.
     
  13. mechaerik

    mechaerik Tuturuu!

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,064
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I just had an idea:
    I'm almost certain that python could be used so that you can't build a certain unit while you are running a certain civic.
    So I could make it so that running a certain civic could keep you from building the unit, then making a switch to that civic a UN Resolution.

    Anyone know any good, up-to-date python tutorials?
     
  14. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    31,097
    Location:
    Germany / Netherlands
    Good idea for cheating :goodjob:, but is maybe not that logical.
    Could be better, to define a new civic-category with only 2 civics, both without benefits, only with the unit-building-abilities.


    Units with Civics: Use zCivics with zModularPython.
    It works (i'm running it), and it doesn't show up in the game.
    Just give all civics the ability to build the unit, besides your special one.
     
  15. mechaerik

    mechaerik Tuturuu!

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,064
    Location:
    Los Angeles

    Ok, that's great but i still have no idea how to implement this :hammers2:.
    What i need now is a good tutorial, because i want to learn python and not have to rely overtly on the community..
     
  16. Aussie_Lurker

    Aussie_Lurker Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,711
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    TheLopez definitely had a CivicOnlyBuilding and a CivicOnlyUnit mod-which were both SDK mods. It would need to be ported to BtS, but they definitely work!

    Aussie.
     
  17. mechaerik

    mechaerik Tuturuu!

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,064
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I'm using RevDCM as a base- SDK mods are out, unless i learn some C++.
     
  18. Aussie_Lurker

    Aussie_Lurker Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,711
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Look, as long as I don't have the same porting issues that I had with my mod, then I could probably have something for you in the next 7-10 days if you want.

    Aussie_Lurker
     
  19. mechaerik

    mechaerik Tuturuu!

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,064
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Really? I'm using revdcm with nextwar+ inquisition. I would really be thankful.
     
  20. Aussie_Lurker

    Aussie_Lurker Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,711
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Tell you what, if you can e-mail me the SDK files for the mod you're currently using, then I'll try and merge it with the Civic mods that TheLopez did, how does that sound? I'll PM you with my e-mail address.

    Aussie
     

Share This Page