At Last: Warmongering

binhthuy71

Emperor
In all of the time that I've played Civ (Since 1991) I was always a reluctant warmonger. Nothing against it (In a game) I just tend to be a builder and warmongering interferes with building. The game was becoming a bit stale so I decided to investigate the possibilities of warmongering. It's breathed new life into the game for me. Although the basics of building a robust empire are the same the options for diplomacy and some of the teching change a bit when war is the goal from the outset.

Has anyone else gone from peaceable builder to warmonger or vice-versa and, if so, why?

I was a peaceful builder back in Civ2. I liked pretty cities and the farmland.

Since Civ3 came out, though, I've gotten more aggressive on the board (call it teenage angst :)). My Civ4 games are 80-90% domination and conquest wins, with 10% other (combined diplomacy, space race, and cultural).

The game was becoming a bit stale so I decided to investigate the possibilities of warmongering. It's breathed new life into the game for me.

In touch with your inner barbarian! Welcome to the dark side.

Personally I love destroying Civ's while it's still the 3000 BC era.

I go back and forth, but i was born a builder. It's a tough habit to break but more fun than a warmonger going builder.
To really kill those builder urges, sometimes i like to go full-on destruction mode as well, razing every city i take, sometimes keeping a vassal or 2 if i need an airbase on a long haul. Conquest victory on huge maps with 12 cities is about as non-builder as you can get. Hunting down the random cities the AI settles in the void you create is annoying, but cavalry on auto-explore do it well, and winning a conquest victory because barbarian riflemen conquered some city you can't find is hilarious.