1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

ATI Card Problem List

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Technical Support' started by Mikeytikey, Oct 26, 2005.

  1. Mikeytikey

    Mikeytikey Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Durham, UK
    Okies just to help maybe if everyone who as an ATI card could put thier specs and card and driver info in one place. (Here maybe?). Probably help identify the number of people with the problem and what versions are affected. Maybe somebody could give the list to Take2 or Firaxis? Anyways just an idea.
     
  2. Zoomba

    Zoomba Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    ATI X800XL 256MB
    P4 3.0GHz HT
    1GB RAM

    I've tried every driver version from 5.7 up, including OmegaDrivers.

    I get the failed to initialize renderer error
     
  3. alfeas

    alfeas Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    ATI Radeon 9550
    2.1ghz
    1gb ram
     
  4. Speaker

    Speaker Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,097
    Location:
    Section 1
    Failed to initialize renderer error

    ATI Radeon 9550 AGP 256mb DDR
    AMD 64 3200+, MMX, 3dNow, ~2.0GHz
    1024mb RAM
    XP Home, SP2
    DX9.0c

    Tried Catalyst 5.9 and 5.10
    Tried all the compatability modes
    Updated CD-Rom firmware
    Restarted with no background programs
     
  5. Mitch2676

    Mitch2676 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    ATI 9600 256mb
    P4 2.6 HT
    1024Mb
    XP Sp2
     
  6. Amniotic

    Amniotic Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    ATI x800 XL AGP
    AMD 2.00 Ghz
    1024mb RAM
    Windows XP sp2
     
  7. Dreck

    Dreck Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Renderer Error-

    Windows XP Service Pack 2
    Radeon x700 PRO
    768MB RAM
    1.7ghz Pentium 4
     
  8. 69king

    69king Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    69
    Radeon 9600XT 256Mb
    P4 2.4 Ghz
    512Mb RAM
    WinXP SP1
    5.7 drivers
     
  9. Patroklos

    Patroklos Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    12,721
    RADEON 9500 PRO/ 9700
    2.2 Ghz
    1 GB RAM
     
  10. Cidrick

    Cidrick Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Radeon X800XL PCI express
    Athlon64 3200+
    Windows XP SP2
    1GB RAM
    Catalyst 5.10 drivers
    Onboard Sound (Realtek AC97)

    (For the record I'm not getting the "Fail to initialize renderer" problem, but rather no menus or intro videos playing. Sound works just fine.)
     
  11. JaguarUSF

    JaguarUSF Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Radeon 9550
    Catalyst 5.10 Drivers
    Not Working
     
  12. zXz

    zXz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Failed to initialize renderer error

    My DxDiag info
    ---------------
    Card name: ATI MOBILITY RADEON 9800
    Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
    Chip type: MOBILITY RADEON 9800 AGP (0x4A4E)
    DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
    Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_4A4E&SUBSYS_51061028&REV_00
    Display Memory: 256.0 MB
    Current Mode: 1024 x 768 (32 bit) (60Hz)
    Monitor: Standardskjerm
    Monitor Max Res:
    Driver Name: ati2dvag.dll
    Driver Version: 6.14.0010.6444 (English)
    DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    Driver Date/Size: 6/10/2004 16:32:06, 205824 bytes
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
    VDD: i/t
     
  13. bshock727

    bshock727 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    USA
    AMD 1.4 ghz
    512 ram
    Radeon 9600 using Cat 5.10 drivers
    Win XP w/ SP2

    Renderer error
     
  14. brown_mudante

    brown_mudante Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Croatia
    I also have Radeon 9600, I'm affraid I won't be able to run the game properly! :blush:
     
  15. nanoboy

    nanoboy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I have a Radeon 9800 Pro. It more than meets the system requirements.

    After playing for a couple of hours, the screen started getting wobbly, and artifacts appeared. (It's not the heat problem, as I solved that months ago.) After shutting the program down, I restarted Civ IV, and immediately, I saw the same problem. I then rebooted, and the problem still persists. It is rather strange. I even upgraded to SP2 and updated the driver.
     
  16. Foximous

    Foximous Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    AMD Athlon XP 3200
    1 GIG Ram
    ATI X800 XL 256MB
    Catalyst 5.10

    I've tried many of the suggestions on the boards and still no go...
     
  17. Tyrole

    Tyrole Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    ---------------
    Display Devices
    ---------------
    Card name: ALL-IN-WONDER RADEON 8500DV
    Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
    Chip type: RADEON 8500 AIW AGP (0x4242)
    DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
    Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_4242&SUBSYS_02AA1002&REV_00
    Display Memory: 64.0 MB
    Current Mode: 1024 x 768 (32 bit) (100Hz)
    Monitor: HITACHI CM721F
    Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
    Driver Name: ati2dvag.dll
    Driver Version: 6.14.0010.6575 (English)
    DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    Driver Date/Size: 9/14/2005 21:58:47, 241664 bytes
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes

    -----------------------------------------

    Game runs at extremely low framerates - nearly unplayable. Sound goes on and off in the intro movie.
     
  18. picklion

    picklion Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Not getting an error message just that my terrain does not show up and the faces are only eyes and mouths... but
    ATI mobility radeon... 7000
    Win XP
    P4 2.0ghz 512MB ram
     
  19. Loka

    Loka Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Well... not being a technical person I don't know what ATI is, but I can tell you a Nvidia GeForce4 MMX does NOT work with this game.
     
  20. adarel

    adarel Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Traverse City, Michigan, USA
    ATI Radeon x700 pro 256mb
    AMD Athlong 2800+
    1.5gb RAM
     

Share This Page