1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Attack under mutual protection...

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by dirtworm, Jul 23, 2008.

  1. dirtworm

    dirtworm Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    so I made a protection pact with two of my neighbors to keep them from trying to push me over while i was waging war against the mongols....the dutch and portugal. portugal after a few turns decides to ask about a trade for my advanced flight tech...i decide to trade it tot them for quite a bit of stuff. turn after that they attack me. was i incorrect to think that under mutual protection you can not wage war against the other?
     
  2. ZzarkLinux

    ZzarkLinux Engineering Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    156
    Location:
    Virginia, US
    A MPP only has peace treaty / right-of-passage strength, so yes you can declare war on a MPP ally.

    The "Locked-alliance" from scenarios prevents MPP partners from declaring war on each other.

    Sometimes, you just can't stop an AI from declaring on you. When they sail a boatload of 1-unit all the way across the world, and land next to your city, they're no stopping the war horn.
    However, you can easily abuse this to your advantage. Just offer them Gold-Per-Turn or Lux-Per-Turn things in exchange for hard-cash or techs. The AI will still declare, thus ending your per-turn payments...

    EDIT:
    Wasn't this different in Civ2?
     
  3. dirtworm

    dirtworm Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    upon spending some time trying to figure this out...i see that i did not even have a peace treaty with them, heh. ah well, looks like i am going to have to hold the troops back...
    and yeah, in civ 2 i am pretty sure that you were unable to attack and had to cancel it through diplomacy, and i am pretty sure that the cpu did not have to follow that rule...
     
  4. vmxa

    vmxa Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,866
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    I cannot remember that far back to Civ2, but a peace treat would not mean they could not DOW. The best way to prevent an attack is to be consider strong.

    This is not a sure thing, but it is your best bet. Always be careful about trading techs. I do not like to trade war techs, unless they are very weak or very far away. They just may use them on me.
     
  5. timerover51

    timerover51 Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    3,491
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chicago area in Illinois
    Interesting, a high level player that is not totally enamored with tech trading.
     
  6. darski

    darski Regent in Training

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,075
    Location:
    Ontario, Can.
    That isn't quite correct. vxma is in favour of Smart tech trading. I am not a high level player but even I am careful about what I teach a nasty Civ that is nearby.
     
  7. Death_Machine

    Death_Machine Slaytanic Warrior

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,785
    Location:
    SOUTH Georgia
    I kind of think like that, but to me all the other Civs are nasty & sooner or later they will all be nearby.
     
  8. vmxa

    vmxa Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,866
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    Yes I will trade, presuming I am allowed to in the game, but with care. Not going to trade MT, unless they are not too far from getting it, under most circumstances. Of course I may not have anything to trade anyway.
     
  9. darski

    darski Regent in Training

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,075
    Location:
    Ontario, Can.

    Well yeah!!!

    :lol::lol::lol:
     
  10. DWetzel

    DWetzel Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,262
    I prefer to think of it this way:

    In a standard game with 7 opponents, every time I trade, I improve my position on six of them.
     
  11. Death_Machine

    Death_Machine Slaytanic Warrior

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,785
    Location:
    SOUTH Georgia
    Not really, because once you trade it to one the AI will trade amongst themselves. If you trade it to one then you might as well trade it to all & maximize your gains.
     

Share This Page