1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Attacking Cities

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by ajsciri4, Nov 12, 2011.

1. ajsciri4

ajsciri4 Warlord

I started playing cIV yesterday after playing ciV for about a week and deciding cIV was probably better.

Gunpowder units bypass a cities' defenses, so I decided to wait until I discovered gunpowder and upgraded all of my soldiers (besides a few units of pikemen to stop Persia's mounted riflemen or whatever) to grenadiers and made an army of riflemen, grenadiers, and the occasional French Musketeer.

Persia had a lot of Longbowmen defending a city, nothing else. I don't know if I was attacking wrong or not, but apparently you can only send one unit at a time to attack a city, so I lost around five units of grenadiers trying to attack two units of Longbowmen. Anyone have tips on attacking cities? I know everyone has a different attacking style so I'd like to hear from as many people as possible.

2. strijder20

strijder20 Wallowing in irony

Always, always, always use siege.
    You can bombard down a city's defense, you can inflict collateral damage.
    You will drastically reduce casualties.

3. ajsciri4

ajsciri4 Warlord

Doesn't that just hurt a city's defense? I thought using gunpowder would avoid all of that mess

4. mintegar

mintegar Warlord

Catapults "Bombard" mission lowers city defense. Attack with them to inflict collateral damage on the defenders.

This will often be a suicide if your at tech parity, but thats ok because the troops you bring along the catapults can easily clean up the weakened defenders and you come out way ahead in cost.