1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Attila's Mods

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Mod Components' started by AttilaTheHun, Oct 2, 2010.

  1. AttilaTheHun

    AttilaTheHun Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Updated to work with version 1.0.1.383

    I have collected a number of useful UI mods and have made a few of my own. Most of the UI mods change the same file, so it is not possible to have them all enabled at the same time.

    I took what I considered to be the best part of the mods, modified some of them some more and integrated them all in one package, so they can all be active at the same time.

    Features:

    - Click gold icon to display Economic Info panel
    - Display research and turns left instead of science per turn
    - Do not display plot info above minimap
    - Open tech tree if Next Turn is blocked by Research or Free Tech
    - Display turns left until next Golden Age in tooltip
    - Display luxury resources on top panel and tooltip
    - Display turns left in current trades, not duration
    - 12/24 hour clock (click to toggle)
    - Great People tooltip
    - Display Turns left until next Policy instead of Culture per turn (tooltip has this info)
    - HELP button changed to question mark to make more room on top panel

    Added in Version 8

    - Changed Culture info to display Turns until next Policy (shortens display)
    - Changed Great Person info to display Turns until next Great Person
    - Changed HELP button to question mark (shortens display)

    Version 9

    - Minor bug fixes to Great Scientist color and Great Person turns left calculation

    Version 13

    - Compatibility changes for game version 1.0.1.135

    Version 14

    - Compatibility changes for game version 1.0.1.217

    Version 15

    - Compatibility changes for game version 1.0.1.275

    Version 16

    - Compatibility changes for game version 1.0.1.332

    Version 17

    - Compatibility changes for game version 1.0.1.383

    Thanks to The_Larch, AgentofEvil, Magus, salaminizer, BlakeTheGreat, Thalassicus, who laid the groundwork for some of these.

    You can download the mod from the Mod Browser (now called "Attila Mods").
     
  2. kuwazome

    kuwazome Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks this is quite useful.

    Have you considered making the luxury resource into separate icons? Also, I've noticed the separate luxury resources mod changed the 1 Extra to a dark gray, I thought that was a good distinction between used ones.
     
  3. Ixezed

    Ixezed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Attila, I modified some features for my personal taste

    - I removed the CTRL-R, CTRL-Y.. I like it the way it is in the Vanilla version (R, Y only)
    - I replaced the luxury tooltip by the one provided by Gorey (see here) which is more complete and better IMO.
    - I simplified the clock (only 24hres) and put it on the far right of the top bar
    - I removed the "replace beakers by actual production" feature, I prefer to see my total science and open the production tab on the left that is discret and show the details of the production (this is my pure personal taste here).

    Thanks again, your code was really nice to work with, you made good comments ! :goodjob:
     
  4. AttilaTheHun

    AttilaTheHun Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    The ctrl+r and ctrl+y is how the commands are documented on the game insert (boxed version). Also, you might not like R so much if you happen to have a worker selected when you want to see the resources and he starts to build a road - annoyed me enough to change the command. <g>

    There are many ways to do the luxury display. In my version, the first number is the actual total number of resources you have access to. If it is white, you either have 0 resources or just enough to cover your needs and what you traded away. If it is green, you have extra that you can trade, which will be listed. If it is red, it means you have traded away too many of that resource and you don't have access to any. I am not sure how you need to be more complete, but this is enough for me.

    Thanks for the feedback and I am glad you found your way around easily. :)
     
  5. magus424

    magus424 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    You shouldn't incorporate mods without permission :p
     
  6. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    Fantastic changes, thank you. The R hotkey thing bugged me so much, dozens of times I've accidentally started building a road because the game moved to a worker and I hit R before realizing that unit-type was selected.

    By the way, you can use [ICON_BULLET] to create a bulleted list in the mod description.
     
  7. AttilaTheHun

    AttilaTheHun Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Thanks for the bullet tip.
     
  8. AttilaTheHun

    AttilaTheHun Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Uploaded Version 2 to fix a bug in the Luxury Tooltip Display.
     
  9. magus424

    magus424 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    so...you don't care about the lack of permission, then?
     
  10. AttilaTheHun

    AttilaTheHun Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    I don't see how you own the code that you copied from various parts of the lua files distributed with the game or the idea of a Luxury Resource display.

    Furthermore, you have stated that you will not give permission. Because of this and because of the above reasons and the fact that my version of the Luxury Display is different from yours AND for the greater good of the community, I have decided not to put you on the spot and ask for your permission.

    But, since you are making an issue of this.. why would you not give permission (if it were yours to give)?

    You should check out V3 of my code and fix yours accordingly - apparently, info in city trades can match resource IDs and when this happens, you get bogus resource counts.


    NOTE: I have uploaded Version 3 of the mod, which fixes a bug in the Luxury Display, which was caused by having current trades involve cities, not just resources.
     
  11. magus424

    magus424 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    So you think being unable to get permission makes it ok to copy things? Great logic there...
     
  12. mamba

    mamba Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,520
    What I wonder is why you are not giving permission.

    I am actually tempted to write one and give permission just so yours fades into the oblivion it deserves (not because of what it does, but because of your attitude, it's not like creating one is even remotely complex). I believe someone else is already creating a superior version anyway, so by now that is moot however.
     
  13. AttilaTheHun

    AttilaTheHun Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Uploaded version 5, compatible with patch 1.0.0.62

    Removed ctrl+r and ctrl+y, as these are now part of the official patch.
    Added Great People tooltip to Top Panel menu
     
  14. Ganja

    Ganja Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    74
    Thanks Atilla. I used to use your mod but it became uncompatible with another mod, sorry dont remember which. Its all good now, thanks for putting together these user created mods, just makes things easier to see.
     
  15. Ganja

    Ganja Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    74
    Its not working again with the newest Balance mods. The great people and luxuries panels are not showing, they just have the names in capital letters.
     
  16. AttilaTheHun

    AttilaTheHun Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    That's probably because those mods also change TopPanel.xml, which should not be changed by a balance mod, imho. If they change TopPanel.xml, they probably change TopPanel.lua as well and so these mods cannot be loaded at the same time as other mods that change the same files, such as my mod. :(
     
  17. Ganja

    Ganja Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    74
    I found out it was as you just said. The unofficial patch mod by Thal had a top panel.lua. I deleted that and your mod panel shows instead. Think its okay to do that or is it messing with other mods?
     
  18. AttilaTheHun

    AttilaTheHun Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    If you deleted TopPanel.lua from his mod, but you kept the mod enabled, then the rest of his changes should still be in effect, but you will lose his changes to the happiness calculation and tooltip that shows turns until next social policy.

    I will take a look at these changes and incorporate them into my mod if needed.
     
  19. javaja

    javaja Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Stealth Orbit around a Rogue World
    Great mod. The clock / resource list are invaluable, won't play another game without it! Keep 'em coming...
     
  20. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    This is my favorite UI mod, it's fantastic and I've been using it ever since you first released v1 a month ago. I basically consider your changes mandatory things that should have been in the game from the very start. It's so much more convenient to be able to click the items along the top instead of having to hit hotkeys. I really like being able to glance at my currently researching tech at top without wasting space on an excessively large research panel display.

    To clarify, none of the balance mods alter the game UI, but the unofficial patch mod does fix some vanilla game UI bugs with happiness display and turns-until-next-policy. I detail how to merge the mods in the compatibility section of the unofficial patch readme file.

    For the benefit of people who might not be very familiar with merging lua files, would it be acceptable if we merge these UI bug fixes in your mod? I'll link yours from the unofficial patch thread and recommend they be used together, so people won't have to combine them manually. I could also include this mod in the Balance - Combined pack download if that would be acceptable (I can keep them separate if you would prefer, either option is alright, I just want to promote use of your mod).

    I've attached the Lua files from version 5 of your mod with these fixes included (indicated with code comments marked "unofficial patch").
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page