1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Austrian Mod for Rhye's and Fall

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall Modmods' started by zettawatt, Oct 3, 2010.

  1. zettawatt

    zettawatt Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Hi, I am starting to work on this modmod that will ad the Austrians to Rhye's and Fall. I just felt like there was to much space between Germany and Russia when I played it, and it's always fun to see what you can do with something like Rhye's and Fall.

    I may need help with this, but odds are I will end up working on it myself.
     
  2. zettawatt

    zettawatt Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Quick Question, does anybody know what the settler maps in CvRhye.cpp do?
     
  3. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,402
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    They are used by the AI to evaluate where it should settle. The higher the value, the more likely it is to build a city there. It's also used to determine if a tile is within one civ's historical bounds (I think every tile with a value >= 100).

    Which civ to you plan to replace with Austria?
     
  4. zettawatt

    zettawatt Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    I'm actually not replacing anything. It might seem overwhelming but I think I can handle it.
     
  5. Cosmos1985

    Cosmos1985 King

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    650
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    So, in other words, if you want a tile to be inside a civ's defined area, you can't prevent them from wanting to settle on that tile also? I hope I'm making sense. Why I'm asking is that the settler values could use some tweaking to discourage the AI from settling stupid places: France and Germany on the pigs fx.; but is that not possible then, unless you want to remove the tile from their area?

    (OP; sorry for semi-derail)
     
  6. Kawzmo191

    Kawzmo191 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S
    I'd be down for playing this. The lack of Austria really gives Germany a little too much room for initial (settler driven) expansion, and cuts down on European conflict. The only thing this necessitates is that it would be pertinent to change Germany up a little bit to reflect Prussia, more or less. Like a 1700ad spawn and all the things that come with such a radical shift in date. Independents could fill the void, like Frankfurt, a Hanseatic city and maybe one in Poland/Byelorussia for kicks?

    Also, UHVs? Spawn Date?
     
  7. zettawatt

    zettawatt Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    I chose 1000 AD as the Spawn date, but I haven't chosen any UHV's

    I was planning on adding more independant cities as well.
     
  8. Kawzmo191

    Kawzmo191 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S
    RFC:E uses 1160 which is close to the founding of the Archduchy of Austria. But that's splitting hairs, it still gets grandfathered in with the later civs and the size 3 cities :goodjob:
     
  9. Baldyr

    Baldyr "Hit It"

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    5,530
    Location:
    Sweden
    I'm just gonna say this: If you wanna add another Civ to RFC you should start by learning CivIV modding in general. And I mean the whole thing: Programming (C++ and Python), XML, art, the works.

    Because this isn't gonna be easy, just ask antaine. Any experience/knowledge will help. Chances are that you won't be able to finish this.
     
  10. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,402
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    That's impressing, can't wait to see if you're able to live up to it (not meant maliciously) :)

    Basically yes. I was surprised at this as well initially, but I can understand why Rhye didn't want to make two sets of maps that contain the same information for most cases.

    However, the settler value is fluent, while the stability value is only a threshold. So for stability it doesn't matter if the value is 100 or 800. But a civ's core and other important areas usually consist of 800s or at least 400s, so if you turn a tile into 100 it's still stable but is rather unlikely to be settled.
     
  11. The Turk

    The Turk Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,210
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi,

    I'm currently working on a mod for 1500 starting date, and I would like a spawning Austria, so I was just wondering if you are actually pursuing this now? Do you know when you will likely finish?

    Thanks! :)
     

Share This Page