1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Aztec/Mexica

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rhye's and Fall of Civilization' started by kairob, Oct 29, 2006.

  1. kairob

    kairob Biohazard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,081
    Location:
    The North
    Why not change the name of the aztecs to the mexica not only is this apparently a more accurate a name for them (they considered themselves to be mexica) but it would also stop them looking as silly in the later eras?
     
  2. Phallus

    Phallus Freudian Slip

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    605
    Location:
    The magical realm of Essex
    I've done this for my own petty satisfaction in the map file. Just change them manually if you want.

    Spoiler :
    LeaderType=LEADER_HATSHEPSUT
    LeaderName=Hatshepsut
    CivDesc=Egyptian Empire
    CivShortDesc=Kemet
    CivAdjective=Egyptian
    CivType=CIVILIZATION_EGYPT
    Team=0
    PlayableCiv=1
    CivicOption=CIVICOPTION_GOVERNMENT, Civic=CIVIC_HEREDITARY_RULE
    CivicOption=CIVICOPTION_LABOR, Civic=CIVIC_SLAVERY
    Handicap=HANDICAP_PRINCE
    EndPlayer
    BeginPlayer
    LeaderType=LEADER_ASOKA
    LeaderName=Ashoka
    CivDesc=Indian Empire
    CivShortDesc=Bharat
    CivAdjective=Indian
    CivType=CIVILIZATION_INDIA
    Team=1
    PlayableCiv=1
    Handicap=HANDICAP_PRINCE
    EndPlayer
    BeginPlayer
    LeaderType=LEADER_QIN_SHI_HUANG
    LeaderName=Qin Shi Huangdi
    CivDesc=Chinese Empire
    CivShortDesc=Zhong Guo
    CivAdjective=Chinese
    CivType=CIVILIZATION_CHINA
    Team=2
    PlayableCiv=1
    Handicap=HANDICAP_PRINCE


    and so on

    That's all you have to change, though they still have the default descriptions in the pedia.
     
  3. kairob

    kairob Biohazard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,081
    Location:
    The North
    ace! thankyou :)
     
  4. kairob

    kairob Biohazard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,081
    Location:
    The North
    which file do I need to change? and what folder is it in?
     
  5. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,691
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    Open the map file with notepad and the info is there.

    But I agree that Mexica might be better.
     
  6. Phallus

    Phallus Freudian Slip

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    605
    Location:
    The magical realm of Essex
    It's in PrivateMaps.
     
  7. kairob

    kairob Biohazard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,081
    Location:
    The North
    thanks guys :)
     
  8. Rossiya

    Rossiya Fridge Magnet Porn

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Messages:
    6,981
    Yes, Rome could change to Italy, England to Britain etc.
     
  9. Hitti-Litti

    Hitti-Litti läski apina

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,767
    Location:
    äteritsiputeritsipuolilautatsijänkä
    And Russia could be USSR for a moment... And Germany separated to DDR and West Germany. No, I'm not serious.

    Names don't bother me. Only thing that bothers is leaderheads. Wow, year is 1950 and Julius Caesar STILL uses a toga...
     
  10. Phallus

    Phallus Freudian Slip

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    605
    Location:
    The magical realm of Essex
    But if anything that would make things less accurate than before...
     
  11. McA123

    McA123 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    541
    Location:
    NS, Canada
    There was a discussion about this an another thread a while ago... And I don't think it's possible for the name to change mid-game anyways, and someone said (and I have to agree), that these changes of name were the result of huge changes within the country. Rome and Italy aren't really the same thing, nor are the Aztecs and Mexicans, Incans and Peruvians, etc.
     
  12. Hitti-Litti

    Hitti-Litti läski apina

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,767
    Location:
    äteritsiputeritsipuolilautatsijänkä
    Aztec called themselves Mexica, like kairob said in OP. But yes, Rhye has better things to do than nitpick with these small things, that don't affect to gameplay.
     
  13. kairob

    kairob Biohazard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,081
    Location:
    The North
    I dont agree with Rome and Itally I was only suggesting the mexica things because thats what they called themselves like Hitti-Litti said. However it would be cool if instead of rome reimerging the was an itally civ that came about under various conditions (like the collapse of rome) etc...
     
  14. McA123

    McA123 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    541
    Location:
    NS, Canada
    That definitely would be cool... But it sounds kind of impossible to code. Still, we can always hope...
     

Share This Page