Balance questions for moo I

kyrub

Chieftain
Hi,
I'm new to this last-but-well-breathing moo forum.

The reason I've come here is:
I'm actually doing some relatively SCARCE hex-editing to tweak the original moo I to make the replay more challenging and to add some new spice in the space. Facilitate some AI paths. Even more balance for weapons, techs, specials, armors etc. (is ti possible? I guess so)

(Yeah, it's a sacriledge. I knew I shouldn't touch IT. Please, don't stone me.)

I will not give my opinions ahead, even if I have 80% of the concept done, edited, tried. Still doubting some of my changes...
So I'd like to consult the basic balance questions:

1) RACES:
Is there any race which is overpowered, if compared the to others? (when AI-played)
Who are average (when AI-played)?
Who are the minions (when AI-played)?

2) WEAPONS
Which weapon is overpowered (you guessed it, I want to weaken your nicest toy - basically because you know the game imbalance but AI is dumb)?
Which weapon is (almost useless)?
Which one you never use?

Where should be the missile balance? Scatter packs, early missles, mid-game missles, end-game missles?

Torpedoes? Used or not?

3) DEFENSIVE

Does anybody use "TYPE II" armor? HOw could look a tweaked one?
Are ECMs any good? Do you research them, ecm 1 or ecm 2, or even ecm 5?
Shouldnt be maneuver more expensive?
Shields in the mid, end game become almost useless, too weak and too bulky?

4) TECHS
Are there some techs I should erase out of the game?
Some that need to appear earlier - later?

5) SPECIALS

Overpowered x Hardly useful

If you answer, give always the number of the topic ahead of your ideas.

Thanks for any effort

@kyrub