1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Barbarian chariot... wait, what?

Discussion in 'Civ1 - General Discussions' started by OrangeJuice, Jul 25, 2014.

  1. OrangeJuice

    OrangeJuice Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    2


    I was hanging around in DOS Civ, when suddenly i noticed a barbarian chariot. As far as i know, barbarians can only have cavalry, legion, diplomate, sail, fregate, knight, musketeer and cannon. Strangely, they managed to destroy a Greek city and capture two Zulus couple of turns later. So, is that barbarian chariot a bug or what?
     
  2. Renergy

    Renergy Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    Wow! Never seen barbarian chariot. Guess you don't have a savegame, though even if you do it probably wouldn't elucidate what happened. Anyway, nice catch! :thumbsup:
     
  3. kirkham7

    kirkham7 Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    288
    Location:
    Hayward, CA
    Actually, I have seen it before. Not for a very long time, but yeah I've seen it before.
     
  4. Mize

    Mize Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    310
    My educated guess, most probably the AI was already building chariots in one of the cities the barbarians captured. Just like you can build, let's say armor without having automobile tech. if you capture an AI city that has been building armor. So, theoretically, you might give the barbarians even nuclear capability if you let them take a city that is building a nuke. Wonder if they'll use it...
     
  5. GoldBerg

    GoldBerg CivDosPlayer of '91

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    564
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Palace Improvement
    Yes, that's how it works.

    .
    If the Barbarian captured city is in the nuclear unit's range ...of another civilization's city, that city (or one of those in the range, if there are more of them) will face a hit by that nuclear unit (or many hits, if the captured city holds more than one nuclear unit.

    i am sure about this, because the Barbarian (AI) usually uses every capable unit to attack cities or units within it's range.
     

Share This Page