1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Barbarians just humiliated me

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Wolf52, Jul 3, 2008.

  1. Wolf52

    Wolf52 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    So, i was playing on Tectonic (60% water coverage) as the Romans on Noble under Augustus. I had built up 4 cities, and was doing pretty well apart from the fact that i had no easy access to iron, and there was no copper on my continent at all (i thought being alone would be good). So the barbarians send a few warriors at me at first, which i fended off with my own warriors. Then, all of a sudden, they start sending multiple axemen along with spearmen and archers! In 500 BC (on normal speed) two of my cities were captured ON THE SAME TURN! I couldnt build anything apart from warriors before it was too late. Good god, this has to be my worst loss ever...
     
  2. killmeplease

    killmeplease Mk Z on Steam

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,794
    Location:
    Samara
    to 500 BC you usually must already know alphabet, and can trade archery for something to defend your cities ahainst barbs.
     
  3. Wolf52

    Wolf52 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Not quite, like i said i had the continent to myself, and usually the barbarians arent quite this intense.
     
  4. J-man

    J-man Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,088
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Nijmegen, the Netherlands
    I thought the new patch only sends barbarians when you can build the counter unit?
     
  5. Wolf52

    Wolf52 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    I guess not, because they certainly had a whole bunch of axemen coming my way when all i could produce was warriors. I would have swordsmen and axemen myself in a short time but they got to me too quickly.
     
  6. jimbob27

    jimbob27 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,430
    Location:
    London
    Thats just the barbarian random event. If you build an axeman, a bunch of swordmen will turn up, if you build a spearman, it'll be horse archers... etc etc

    Wolf, intense barbarians are one of the set-backs of an isolated start. The more empty space on your continent thats covered in fog, the greater the area for the barbs to appear.
     
  7. Stoney the I

    Stoney the I Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    531
    Location:
    Netherlands
    fogbusting does 2 things for ya here.

    stationing the units on a forest hill or jungle hill will make barbs suicide into it, granting it xp.

    it will prevent barbs from spawning in the visible area, reducing their numbers.

    i often neglect to do it, but with raging barbs it helps if you are isolated a bit.
     
  8. PickledDictator

    PickledDictator Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    There are times where fogbusting doesn't work though. How many times do I think I have things busted only to see barbs take the long way around and sidestep my units.

    I end up having to attack to avoid pillaging and then lose units.

    I also find that if you lose a few units, the barbs seem to step it up, almost sensing that your weak and you spend all this time building more units and losing them in this war against the heathens while your "real" rivals expand all around you.

    frustrating to say the least.
     
  9. Supr49er

    Supr49er 2011 Thunderfall Cup

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,603
    Location:
    Bear Flag Republic
    Welcome to the Forums PickledDictator. :beer:
     
  10. DMOC

    DMOC Mathematician

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5,594

    In future games, be sure to have a strategic resource ready or archers ready BEFORE 1500 BC.
     
  11. PickledDictator

    PickledDictator Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Thanks mate!!:goodjob:
     
  12. Wolf52

    Wolf52 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Yeah, believe me, ive learned my lesson. Usually i am not really in dire need for archers early on, this was a first.
     
  13. OnmyojiOmn

    OnmyojiOmn Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    371
    If, on the turn you finish researching BW, there is no copper you can feasibly get your hands on with your next settler, you are in dire need for archers. Don't spam warriors, don't mess with chariots (especially now that barb spearmen often show up before archers or even warriors), certainly do not wait for IW. You should be researching archery or its prereqs on the next turn.
     
  14. CoZe

    CoZe Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    193
    Always build the wall before 2000 BC. Especially if you're stranded on an island. This makes sure of two things : 1 you'll have a long time of developing/teching without having to worry about defense 2 Somebody else will be having problems when you deny them the wall.
     
  15. pumpkin

    pumpkin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    39
    Surely that is no longer true. I remember it used to be like that in Vanilla but since BTS they will always walk in a straight line past my 'outpost' only one or two tiles away, unless I attack them. They focus on getting inside your borders now.
     
  16. PickledDictator

    PickledDictator Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Pumpkin, this is exactly what I was talking about a couple of posts above, nice to see others experiencing the same issues.

    I find myself attacking these barbs, which of course means I will end up losing some troops in this process.

    It seems if I don't get GW I run into trouble UNLESS I have a source of copper, in which case I just have that city do nothing but pump axemen.

    I just never seem to know when is enough military?????
     
  17. pumpkin

    pumpkin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    39
    In relation to the other civs (not barbs), just press F9 and click on 'Power' to see how large your competitors' armies are. You'll need to collect some espionage points before all of them become visible though.
     
  18. Mayor West

    Mayor West Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Sorry, wrong thread!
     

Share This Page