1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Barbarians

Discussion in 'Civ3 Conquests - Bug Reports' started by Sparrowhawk, Nov 8, 2003.

  1. Sparrowhawk

    Sparrowhawk The Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2001
    Messages:
    1,676
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Weimar, Germany
    I'm busy playing my second "Conquests" game right now - the first one I played was the WWII conquest - and I've noticed something weird with barbarians.

    I'm playing a random map with barbarians set to 'raging' on monarch difficulty level, and the barbarians are not leaving their camps. I have encountered several camps now with huge stacks of units that just haven't left.

    I am aware that barbarians are programmed not to attack against impossible odds, but these ones aren't moving at all. They aren't travelling, or splitting up, or pillaging, or even venturing out to look for targets of opportunity.

    Has anyone else had this issue?
     
  2. Civrules

    Civrules We the People

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,621
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    US
    A save would be much useful.
     
  3. Sparrowhawk

    Sparrowhawk The Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2001
    Messages:
    1,676
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Weimar, Germany
    Unfortunately, I don't have one within the period where I noticed this behaviour most. So here's a save at 700CE. The arctic area to the at the north end of my island in the 700CE game is crawling with barbarians who aren't coming out to play - and there hasn't been a 'barbarian uprising'. The only way to get them to move is to send an absurdly weak unit up there alone, and then they just kill it and continue - no raiding, etc...

    EDIT: Apparently a 184KB zip file is too big to attach, maybe someone can refresh my memory as to how to upload things to civfanatics.net?
     
  4. andvruss

    andvruss Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,932
    Location:
    Росси
  5. Sparrowhawk

    Sparrowhawk The Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2001
    Messages:
    1,676
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Weimar, Germany
  6. aeldrik

    aeldrik from CIV1 to infinity

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    746
    Location:
    Northern Europe
    Hy, I know what you mean, this is not a bug, but an improvement (in my opinion). Barbarians now just don"t leave the camps and attack the next best thing, they tend to stand together, sometimes even massing on other possition, I don"t know how exactly it has been regulated, but it makes them maybe less agressive
     
  7. dexters

    dexters Gods & Emperors Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,116
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    you mean less suicidal. It'd still like to see them move around a bit and maybe harass your workers. isn't that the point? to make the players adjust early movements because the barbs are in the way?
     

Share This Page