1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Barracks Questions

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Strategy & Tips' started by gmaharriet, Apr 9, 2005.

1. gmaharriet

gmaharriet Ancient Crone

I've read the advice from good players about not trying to build every improvement, and I've read that barracks are important, but not one in every town/city. How many rax are enough for various map types and playing styles???

I'm a peaceful builder, but I try to keep a good defense using offensive units (learned THAT here too :D ), but until you get rails, it takes time to get back to a rax to upgrade units...and on an archipeligo it's almost impossible. I end up building one in every town, but I know it's probably a waste of shields.

Are there some good rules of thumb to go by? Do you constantly move units back and forth to keep them up-to-date? Thank you for any advice. :)

2. Tomoyo

Tomoyo Fate

The rax thing: I like to build them whereever there isn't something more urgent. This usually means all core cities.

EDIT: I don't usually do defenders, but when I do, I do do the shuffling.

3. DBear

DBear unbeliever

If a town's capable of building troops, it should get a rax. This lets out the totally corrupt ones.

Or you could just build Sun Tzu ;)

4. soul_warrior

soul_warrior Termite!

in an archpelgo i try for a rax on every medium island (4+ cities). it will allow for quicker healing and upgrades.
    on continents - just the core, which is used to pump out units, and an occasional rax near the front, usually rushed, for R&R and upgrades.
    invaded continents get 1 rax @ the beach-head.
    pangea - same deal - core gets them, and 1-2 at the front.
    i guess its a bit overkill but i like my quick healing and upgrades.