Beating Russia (peter)

Dancingkoalaa

Chieftain
So i am a beginner in Civ 6 (got over 100 hours in civ 5) and i am trying to play my first ever religion victory as arabia (playing 6 people in teams, we have Me and Kongo, France and scythia and Peter and Brazil)

Currently i controll 9/10 french cities and russia keeps taking over the final one, this also happens to a city state.
He has Kongo, Brazil and himself under controll. I am trying to gain controll of scythia but she has her own religion (seems to have given up on spreading it). Is there any way i can finally take down russia.. He is way closer to both states and everytime i finally have someone on there he takes it back in a matter of turns..

I like to save the last spread charge on apostles and move them around in packs paired with a guru. Use them to keep Peter from spreading.

Being new to the game, you might not know that apostles can 'fight' other religious units? A religious victory is best achieved by sending multiple apostles as a 'religious army' accompanied perhaps with a few guru's. The apostles use their charges to spread religion to cities, but never the last charge (that ends their existence). They can be used to battle other religious units and if they kill them a burst of you religion gets sent to all cities within a range of (what was it... 6 or 9 tiles I think)? The gurus are used to heal the apostles, or you can send the apostles back home to heal near one of your holy sites.

He is way closer to both states and everytime
So do not both, it should not be an issue.
For an RV you need to control the majority of their cities with your religion. Nothing about city states, it is close to them so plan on converting their cities and the city state will be immaterial.
In civ6 religious pressure is not an issue, a city will push out 2 or 4 point per turn, it takes 50 turns for than to equal a charge of a missionary (even then it is a little less)